Infinity corrected microscopes

Everything relating to microscopy hardware: Objectives, eyepieces, lamps and more.
ivangallego24

Infinity corrected microscopes

#1 Post by ivangallego24 » Fri Aug 30, 2019 6:45 pm

Someone would tell me what advantages and disadvantages these microscopes have over others, and the differences as well.

PeteM

Re: Infinity corrected microscopes

#2 Post by PeteM » Fri Aug 30, 2019 6:52 pm

The question has been answered a few times. Might want to search the posts, then come back with detailed questions?

Dave S

#3 Post by Dave S » Fri Aug 30, 2019 6:56 pm

I'm no expert Ivan, but I am led to believe that in terms of image sharpness, and resolution, there is no difference between infinity corrected optics, and 160mm RMS standard ones.

However, again, as I am led believe, a microscope with infinity corrected optics is far more flexible when come to 'reflected light', and Florescent microscopy.

I also believe that each manufacturer matches the whole optical system to their own specification, and as such you can only use their objectives, whereas you can put any brand of 160 RMS objective, on any 160mm tube scope

That said, the are some real experts on this forum, you will be able to give a more definitive answer.
Suffolk, UK

Roldorf

#4 Post by Roldorf » Fri Aug 30, 2019 7:53 pm

According to Zeiss:-

Infinity-corrected microscope optical systems, which have overtaken the microscope market, are designed to enable the insertion of auxiliary optical devices, such as vertical illuminators, filter cubes, and intermediate tubes, into the optical pathway between the objective and eyepieces without introducing spherical aberration, requiring focus corrections, or creating other image problems.

It of course also allows manufacturers to 'lock down' their market so that you must purchase their objectives to use in their systems.

Unknown Brand: Optika SFX 91: Bresser Science Infinity: Canon 4000d
ImageImage

apochronaut