Microscope for my wife?

Everything relating to microscopy hardware: Objectives, eyepieces, lamps and more.
Nwkmf

Microscope for my wife?

#1 Post by Nwkmf » Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:25 pm

Hi All!

I’m hoping you all can help me out...

My wife wants to get a microscope that would allow her to take images of microscopic stuff (forgive me lay person verbiage? :-/), then blow it up to be painted and essentially turned into art. Can anyone recommend a microscope that would allow her to take high quality images that could be enlarged to print on much bigger canvases without too much distortion? I’ve been looking at an OMAX but there seem to be a lot of complaints about the actual camera, particularly as it relates to shutter speed and the frame size? I have little to no knowledge of how this all works but want to make sure she has everything she needs to make her art, so any guidance is appreciated! I’d also say I think the greater range of zoom the better? I think she wants a lot of versatility in her “subjects.”

Thanks you in advance!
N

Scarodactyl

Re: Microscope for my wife?

#2 Post by Scarodactyl » Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:38 pm

Do you have an idea of your budget, and of the size of subjects she will want to photograph? If her workflow will involve painting the image she may not need tip top resolution since it will be her interpretation of the image anyway.

PeteM

#3 Post by PeteM » Fri Nov 29, 2019 9:10 pm

Another possibility for your wife's art would be to take very high resolution digital images, print them to a high standard, and then selectively paint over portions to create surreal photo-realistic "thingscapes." That would require somewhat better equipment, since some of the original image would still be present.

Do you already have a good, perhaps full frame, digital camera? That could be about half the equation, cost-wise, in a very good setup.

Nwkmf

#4 Post by Nwkmf » Fri Nov 29, 2019 10:00 pm