BHS Voltage

Everything relating to microscopy hardware: Objectives, eyepieces, lamps and more.
Post Reply
Message
Author
thomas.schwarz
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:04 pm

BHS Voltage

#1 Post by thomas.schwarz » Thu Jan 09, 2020 7:24 pm

Hi friends,

This BH-2 BHS Olympus microscope came ftom the usa. I see in the manual, you can select 100v or 110v. I am no expert, but I think here in Austria the voltage on a regular plug is something like 220v. That would be bad. Amy tips? Just buy a plain vanilla voltage adapter?

Thanks
Tom
Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg
Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg (29.03 KiB) Viewed 1587 times

MichaelG.
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: BHS Voltage

#2 Post by MichaelG. » Thu Jan 09, 2020 8:15 pm

110/115 would normally be an acceptable range of input voltages, rather than a switchable option.

If you are comfortable doing this: Open the box and look inside ... you may get a pleasant surprise.
Sometimes the internal transformers are wire-able to suit either input voltage
... You may even find that the rating plate is reversible !!

Please share some photos if you want to discuss.

MichaelG.
Too many 'projects'

thomas.schwarz
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:04 pm

Re: BHS Voltage

#3 Post by thomas.schwarz » Thu Jan 09, 2020 9:24 pm

Thar she blows))

I see no 220v... ideas?

Tom
Webp.net-resizeimage (9).jpg
Webp.net-resizeimage (9).jpg (36.36 KiB) Viewed 1575 times

thomas.schwarz
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:04 pm

Re: BHS Voltage

#4 Post by thomas.schwarz » Thu Jan 09, 2020 9:27 pm

Better pic of xformer and noise filter. Interesting that filter say 220v....

Tom
Webp.net-resizeimage (10).jpg
Webp.net-resizeimage (10).jpg (33.34 KiB) Viewed 1572 times
Webp.net-resizeimage (11).jpg
Webp.net-resizeimage (11).jpg (39.32 KiB) Viewed 1572 times

carlh6902
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 2:24 am
Location: Olathe, KS
Contact:

Re: BHS Voltage

#5 Post by carlh6902 » Fri Jan 10, 2020 12:28 am

That scope was made for north america and cannot be converted for 220v.

This pdf shows whats in there:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=16d-or ... qfZomsScdv

Carl
--- If you're in the Kansas City area and you need help with an Olympus BH-2 scope, PM me. I love to work on these things ---

MichaelG.
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: BHS Voltage

#6 Post by MichaelG. » Fri Jan 10, 2020 12:32 am

That’s a pity ...

Some transformers have dual 110V windings which can be used in series or in parallel, and I was hoping that might be the case here [because they seem to be using a European ‘kettle connector’ on the mains lead].

Two obvious choices:

1. Substitute a similarly sized 220V transformer
2. Put a step-down transformer in line, to convert your mains to 110V
Note: ... It might be advisable to choose a ‘safety isolating transformer’ for that job, rather than the cheaper ‘autotransformer’

More anon : It’s past bedtime now.

MichaelG.
Too many 'projects'

MichaelG.
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: BHS Voltage

#7 Post by MichaelG. » Fri Jan 10, 2020 12:37 am

carlh6902 wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 12:28 am
That scope was made for north america and cannot be converted for 220v.

This pdf shows whats in there:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=16d-or ... qfZomsScdv

Carl
.

Thanks for sharing that, Carl

It’s disappointing that the transformer is not the one shown in the circuit on page A-12
[ which is, of course, what I was hoping ]

MichaelG.
Too many 'projects'

carlh6902
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 2:24 am
Location: Olathe, KS
Contact:

Re: BHS Voltage

#8 Post by carlh6902 » Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:01 am

The circuit on A-12 is the 20W bht/bhtu version. It is built with one of two different transformers, just like the two bhs versions. One is wound for 110v and the other one is wound for 220v operation. The schematic just shows the two optional part numbers. The switch nearby is for operation at 10% lower than nominal voltage or nominal voltage.

The bht/bhtu pdf is here:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1HYioE ... h5EPlqz95F

None of the BH-2 scopes can be converted between 110 and 220. They are built to be one or the other.

Carl
--- If you're in the Kansas City area and you need help with an Olympus BH-2 scope, PM me. I love to work on these things ---

PeteM
Posts: 1424
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:22 am
Location: N. California

Re: BHS Voltage

#9 Post by PeteM » Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:20 am

You can buy an external transformer (or an even cheaper solid state voltage converter) to convert from 220 to 110. I'd suggest one with around 200 watt capability to leave a bit of a margin.

MichaelG.
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: BHS Voltage

#10 Post by MichaelG. » Fri Jan 10, 2020 6:24 am

carlh6902 wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:01 am
None of the BH-2 scopes can be converted between 110 and 220. They are built to be one or the other.
I take your word for that, Carl ... I am not familiar with the range.

:oops: My apologies for misinterpreting the switch :oops:

My ‘choice 2’ above should present no problem.

MichaelG.
Too many 'projects'

thomas.schwarz
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:04 pm

Re: BHS Voltage

#11 Post by thomas.schwarz » Fri Jan 10, 2020 7:57 am

Great, thanks friends!!!

No problem to pick up a Spannungswandler today ))) looks like the only cost about 10 bucks. But i will need to do something custom/sort out the ground.....

thomas.schwarz
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:04 pm

Re: BHS Voltage

#12 Post by thomas.schwarz » Fri Jan 10, 2020 9:09 am

Here is my choice, at 50 bucks with delivery, 300w, eith ground conversion it was a no brainer
https://www.amazon.de/dp/B07BGCRW36

Thanks again for you support. Great that i got to open my new friend, which is unreal.... ...more on that once i fire it up....

MichaelG.
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: BHS Voltage

#13 Post by MichaelG. » Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:13 am

thomas.schwarz wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 7:57 am
Great, thanks friends!!!

No problem to pick up a Spannungswandler
... You’re welcome

I’ve just learned a wonderful new word ^^^

MichaelG.
Too many 'projects'

thomas.schwarz
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:04 pm

Re: BHS Voltage

#14 Post by thomas.schwarz » Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:50 pm

Follow up on this, that linked Spannungswandler )) works great, ground, etc... totally happy, because the microscope is all that I ever hopped it would be. ...but that is for another thread.... Thanks again for the help!!!!!!!

MichaelG.
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: BHS Voltage

#15 Post by MichaelG. » Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:15 pm

Great news, Thomas ... Thanks for confirming.

Information useful for anyone else in a similar situation.

MichaelG.
Too many 'projects'

Post Reply