Experiemnting with dirt

Here you can post pictures and videos to show others.
Pat Thielen

Experiemnting with dirt

#1 Post by Pat Thielen » Tue May 24, 2016 3:40 am

Here is a rather abstract photo I took of dirt at 100x using darkfield illumination. Also, I used six images to try to stack the focus. I'm still new at this; any critiques would be greatly appreciated. Of course, I don't see this photo as a masterpiece or anything -- It's all a part of the learning process. It seems I like lighting other than brightfield! :)
Attachments
micro0013467.jpg
micro0013467.jpg (443.57 KiB) Viewed 4514 times
Last edited by Pat Thielen on Tue May 24, 2016 3:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Pat Thielen
Motic BA310, C & A Scientific Premiere SMZ-07, Swift Eleven-Ninety, Swift FM-31, Bausch & Lomb VM349, Olympus CHA
Nikon d810

Pat Thielen

Re: Experiemnting with dirt

#2 Post by Pat Thielen » Tue May 24, 2016 3:46 am

Maybe this is a silly question, but... How many images are typically used in a focus stack? I know the number will vary but is there an average? I wonder if I should be using more than six images as it would seem I didn't get focus throughout the image I posted. Also, when you take images with the intention of stacking them for focus do you look for specific focal points in the images or do you simply adjust the focus bit by bit until you've photographed every "layer"? I guess I'm curious as to what peoples' techniques are in regard to focus stacking.

Thanks!
Pat Thielen
Motic BA310, C & A Scientific Premiere SMZ-07, Swift Eleven-Ninety, Swift FM-31, Bausch & Lomb VM349, Olympus CHA
Nikon d810

vasselle

#3 Post by vasselle » Tue May 24, 2016 5:21 am

Bonjour
Très belle photo
Pour des photos en stacking ça dépend du sujet que l'on veut photographier,car ça peux aller de 4 photos à plus de 100 photos.
Cordialement seb
Microscope Leitz Laborlux k
Boitier EOS 1200D + EOS 1100D

Johann

#4 Post by Johann » Tue May 24, 2016 6:26 am