Diatoms

Here you can post pictures and videos to show others.
Radazz

Diatoms

#1 Post by Radazz » Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:43 am

These are better
Olympus IX70 HMC

20x obj
Seven image stack (picoley)

40x obj

Enjoy,
Radazz
Arnold, Missouri
Olympus IX70
Olympus BX40
Olympus SZ40

janvangastel

Re: Diatoms

#2 Post by janvangastel » Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:52 am

Beautifull! I am new to microscopy and amazed about what's possible.

Hobbyst46

#3 Post by Hobbyst46 » Fri Dec 07, 2018 8:56 am

Attractive creation!

zzffnn

#4 Post by zzffnn » Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:47 pm

Very nice, thank you for sharing!

I would like to see a diatom comparison between HMC and offset oblique, if possible. A separated flat Gyrosigma would work well for that comparison.

Looking at the above Gyrosigma in HMC though, it does seem that HMC may have reduced aperture by too much, such that dot resolution is lost. I am only guessing based on Gyrosigma experience though and could totally be wrong.

photomicro

#5 Post by photomicro » Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:13 pm

zzffnn wrote:Very nice, thank you for sharing!

I would like to see a diatom comparison between HMC and offset oblique, if possible. A separated flat Gyrosigma would work well for that comparison.

Looking at the above Gyrosigma in HMC though, it does seem that HMC may have reduced aperture by too much, such that dot resolution is lost. I am only guessing based on Gyrosigma experience though and could totally be wrong.
Could it be that the stacking process has spoilt the resolution of the dots here?

Radazz

#6 Post by Radazz » Sat Dec 08, 2018 5:57 pm

That would be my guess.
Arnold, Missouri
Olympus IX70
Olympus BX40
Olympus SZ40

photomicro

#7 Post by photomicro » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:27 pm