Pine stem cross section

Here you can post pictures and videos to show others.
daruosha

Pine stem cross section

#1 Post by daruosha » Mon Feb 17, 2020 1:32 am

Nothing to brag about, but as a newbie I spent hours of hand sectioning, fixing, staining, mounting, stacking and stitching:

36 set of 3 focus planes (total of 108 pictures) stitched and stacked. Plan achro 10x, 0.25/ EOS 50D / stitched in PS, stacked in Helicon Focus.

No DIC or any special type of illumination. Feel free to bombard me with critiques and comments about my mistakes (in fact I'd be glad).
Daruosh.

jb89

Re: Pine stem cross section

#2 Post by jb89 » Mon Feb 17, 2020 2:45 am

I think it looks phenomenal, you put a lot of work into it and it shows

I unfortunately can't give you any critiques but maybe some of the more experienced guys will have some tips for you

WhyMe

#3 Post by WhyMe » Mon Feb 17, 2020 4:31 am

That looks awesome! You did a great job.

Wes

#4 Post by Wes » Mon Feb 17, 2020 8:00 am

I agree with the members above me. This is a really good result!

Would be interesting to get some details on your sectioning technique as well as fixing, staining and mounting.
Zeiss Photomicroscope III BF/DF/Pol/Ph/DIC/FL/Jamin-Lebedeff
Youtube channel

tgss

#5 Post by tgss » Mon Feb 17, 2020 12:18 pm

I'm with Wes. Let's hear the details. Very nice result.
Tom W.

MicroBob

#6 Post by MicroBob » Mon Feb 17, 2020 12:55 pm

Hi Darousha,

great image, thank you for sharing! The result is well worth the effort. It also is an interesting specimen with a somewhat special structure. Can you name the species of the pine?
What stain was this? The combination looks very nice and differentiates well.
These bigger plant sections actually look better stitched than in of single shot with a lower power objective, though the full resolution can't be shown here in the forum. I don't know why, in theory one single shot should do for the 1024 pixel images here.