MicrobeHunter.com Microscopy Forum

You can also access this page with: www.microscopy-forum.com
It is currently Sat Aug 17, 2019 5:49 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: As an newbee I find
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 1:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 2:46 pm
Posts: 294
Location: Theodosia, MO
That when writing a post this site times out and logs me off. This has happened several time now, how do I avoid this.
I find other people write long posts, are they that much faster then me in expressing their thoughts while posting.

Rich B


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: As an newbee I find
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 1:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 4:39 pm
Posts: 1815
Location: Illinois USA
Oh yes, this drives me nuts. It is best to write a long post in your favorite word processor, then copy and past it over to the forum when finished. I still forget sometimes and it bites me every time.
CE

_________________
Olympus BH-2 / BHTU with Olympus E-P1 MFT camera mounted
LOMO BIOLAM L-2-2
LOMO POLAM L-213 / BIOLAM L-211 hybrid
LOMO Multiscope


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: As an newbee I find
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 6:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 12:17 pm
Posts: 370
Under FAQ's:
Why do I get logged off automatically?
If you do not check the Remember me box when you login, the board will only keep you logged in for a preset time. This prevents misuse of your account by anyone else. To stay logged in, check the Remember me box during login. This is not recommended if you access the board from a shared computer, e.g. library, internet cafe, university computer lab, etc. If you do not see this checkbox, it means a board administrator has disabled this feature.

_________________
Omax M837ZL
Olympus BX53
Leica MZ6
My Facebook Page
My YouTube Channel


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: As an newbee I find
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 12:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 4:39 pm
Posts: 1815
Location: Illinois USA
Good advice (above). But, even with this checked, the forum will still often wipe out a long post if you take too long to compose it.
CE

_________________
Olympus BH-2 / BHTU with Olympus E-P1 MFT camera mounted
LOMO BIOLAM L-2-2
LOMO POLAM L-213 / BIOLAM L-211 hybrid
LOMO Multiscope


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: As an newbee I find
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 1:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 12:15 am
Posts: 2638
I open a new window, log in then close the new window and submit the page. Sometimes it asks for it to be re-submitted but it always gets sent.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: As an newbee I find
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 1:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:42 pm
Posts: 3433
Location: Cumbria, UK
I simply 'duplicate the tab' as I get into large amounts of work to lose - you've basically then got a copy of all the hard-thought and entered text to save doing it all over again....
Essentially the duplicated tab is my backup to save me running away screaming when the post disappears - although I habitually post long verbose posts and very rarely have this happen.

Try 'duplicating the tab' as you go, you can even have a series of duplications, the latest always appears next along the tab-bar to the on I'm working in - very handy indeed.

_________________
John B


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: As an newbee I find
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 2:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:08 am
Posts: 1501
Location: League City, Texas
Ummm ... how does one "duplicate the tab" again?

_________________
Cheers,
Kurt Maurer
League City, Texas
email: ngc704(at)aol(dot)com
http://sawdustfactory.nfshost.com/microscopes/
https://www.flickr.com/photos/67904872@ ... 912223623/


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: As an newbee I find
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 3:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:42 pm
Posts: 3433
Location: Cumbria, UK
KurtM wrote:
Ummm ... how does one "duplicate the tab" again?


Hi Kurt, sorry old chap, using Chrome or IE browsers - 'right-click' on the tab's top where it's name is and a menu will appear that has an option to 'duplicate tab'....

It works as a quick and easy safeguard I find. :)

_________________
John B


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: As an newbee I find
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 2:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 2:46 pm
Posts: 294
Location: Theodosia, MO
Thanks for the reply, I thought I was the only one having the problem.
Rich B


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited