MicrobeHunter.com Microscopy Forum

You can also access this page with: www.microscopy-forum.com
It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 2:50 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 4:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:42 pm
Posts: 3096
Location: Cumbria, UK
mnmyco wrote:
I have a canon 60d and an ortholux with a trinocular head. I use this:

https://www.amazon.com/OMAX-Microscope- ... B01D914LT2

It works in any eyepiece so I do not need all the other attachments. It is a built in 2x lens.

mnmyco


A perfectly food adapter. I know also because when I use my Canon EOS1200D with my trinicular stereo 'scope I use this one and it gives excellent images. The photo-port has a simple adapter to 23mm into which this one 'plugs' with the Canon atop. The height of the photo-port is adjustable and this enables parfocality of camera and eyepiece....

Here's a picture,
This is a 5mp ToupCam that I also use, tethered (USB2) to a laptop and ToupView software,
Attachment:
ws_DSCN9832.jpg
ws_DSCN9832.jpg [ 56.24 KiB | Viewed 1727 times ]


This is the adapter you show, badged by 'Brunel Microscopes' here in the U.K.,
Attachment:
ws_DSCN9834.jpg
ws_DSCN9834.jpg [ 66.97 KiB | Viewed 1727 times ]


Fitted it looks like this, and is again tethered via USB2 to my laptop running Canon's camera-control software,
Attachment:
ws_DSCN9835.jpg
ws_DSCN9835.jpg [ 96.16 KiB | Viewed 1727 times ]


The adapter you show really does work very well indeed. When I mount the Canon to my Orthoplan however I was lucky enough to spot the entire Leitz optical adapter for a reasonable (very) price and use this although the adapter here would be fine also....

John.

_________________
John B
my website


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 6:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:03 am
Posts: 1102
Guys,
Can you post a shot of your set-up so we can compare against mine? Notice the trinoc on my Leitz Dialan has a built in 1.25X lens prior to the variable phototube. Not all Leitz trinoc heads are the same.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Posts: 669
Location: NorthWest England
MichaelG. wrote:
Sorry, I will be out for a while ... but will resume this interesting discussion later.

Hello again ... I'm back

Thinking this through: I believe that [in common with most other eyepieces] the zoom unit itself was designed to produce a virtual image at 'infinity' ... and that the additional lens in the camera module focused that onto the film.
i.e. although built as a unit, it was an 'afocal' system ... just like using your complete camera [with its lens] to photograph through the normal eyepiece of the microscope.

BUT this zoom 'eyepiece' [again, in common with most eyepieces] is also capable of projecting a real image at some finite distance. ... If the optical corrections are adequate then this allows you to place a sensor directly at that location [without a camera lens] ... The evidence from einman tells us that this works nicely.

It is very likely that the sensor focus will not be parfocal with the visual eyepieces.

I hope that makes sense [especially as English is not your first language] ... I will try to clarify any points that trouble you.

MichaelG.

_________________
Too many 'projects'


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 2:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:03 am
Posts: 1102
By the way my system is parfocal as well. It does not appear that the heads pictured contain a 1.25X lens as does mine. Just a comment.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 2:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:03 am
Posts: 1102
There are variations in the heads available for Leitz scopes. Here are the 2 Diaplans I own. The one on the right has a 1.25X lens in the quad head. It is quad because it has a camera port to the rear as well. The one on the left does not have the 1.25x lens. The system on the right is parfocal and is set up as described earlier. It has a wide field head and eyepieces. The FOV on the sensor is smaller than is observed through the eyepieces, in part because they are 26mm super wide FOV eyepieces.

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 8:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Posts: 669
Location: NorthWest England
There may be another significant difference between the systems being used by 92111 and by einman:

einman uses a Canon DSLR, successfully
92111 has a Sony mirrorless camera https://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonynex5n

The Flange-to-Sensor distance is much smaller on the Sony ... an extension tube may be required.

MichaelG.

_________________
Too many 'projects'


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:45 am
Posts: 89
yes.that is what i want to express.i bought a wrong adapter.the new adapter is in the way.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:45 am
Posts: 89
hello everyone ,after change a adapter,it works? i can get FOV when variable lens at 10x,but i can't get a FOV when it at 5x,how can i make it in best work situation.


Attachments:
DSC01401.JPG
DSC01401.JPG [ 287.69 KiB | Viewed 1669 times ]
IMG_20181029_143606.jpg
IMG_20181029_143606.jpg [ 254.46 KiB | Viewed 1669 times ]
IMG_20181029_143619_1.jpg
IMG_20181029_143619_1.jpg [ 201.28 KiB | Viewed 1669 times ]
IMG_20181029_143943.jpg
IMG_20181029_143943.jpg [ 196.25 KiB | Viewed 1669 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 7:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 2:34 am
Posts: 5111
Location: Estepona
Quote:
... i can't get a FOV when it at 5x,how can i make it in best work situation.
There may be an auxiliary lens below the condenser that you swing in with low magnification objectives.
Make sure you swing it out at higher magnifications.
Alternatively some condensers have a swing lens on the top.
If it is on top then you need to swing it out. In others the top lens simply unscrews. Not sure which you have.

_________________
Zeiss Standard WL & Wild M8
Olympus E-P2 (Micro Four Thirds Camera)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Posts: 669
Location: NorthWest England
92111 wrote:
hello everyone ,after change a adapter,it works? i can get FOV when variable lens at 10x,but i can't get a FOV when it at 5x,how can i make it in best work situation.

Good to see that it works at 10x

As I mentioned before: You are operating this 'eyepiece' outside its design envelope.
You may find, however, that an increased length of extension tube would help.
... I can only suggest that you experiment.

Alternatively; you could try the 'afocal' arrangement [with a standard lens on the camera], which is much closer to how the 'zoom eyepiece' was intended to be used.

MichaelG.

_________________
Too many 'projects'


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 1:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:45 am
Posts: 89
MichaelG. wrote:
You are operating this 'eyepiece' outside its design envelope.


MichaelG.

should i buy this?
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r.1.14.62.75357d05T0uuOq&id=524186283155&ns=1&abbucket=14#detail


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 1:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Posts: 669
Location: NorthWest England
92111 wrote:
MichaelG. wrote:
You are operating this 'eyepiece' outside its design envelope.

MichaelG.

should i buy this?
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r.1.14.62.75357d05T0uuOq&id=524186283155&ns=1&abbucket=14#detail

I don't think you need to do that ...
First try holding [using tripod or other stand] the Sony Nex with a lens fitted above the Zoom Eyepiece.

MichaelG.

Attachment:
IMG_2392.JPG
IMG_2392.JPG [ 174.8 KiB | Viewed 1645 times ]

_________________
Too many 'projects'


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:45 am
Posts: 89
thank you MichaelG.
i need time to do that ,my two hand sony has no lens ,and i have no money now.
i find my sony not good at record vedio,i don't like take photos ,l like vedio


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 3:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:03 am
Posts: 1102
You will need to use the swing in lens on top of the condenser assuming the condenser you have has that accessory. Anything below 10x requires the swing in lens generally.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 3:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:45 am
Posts: 89
einman wrote:
You will need to use the swing in lens on top of the condenser assuming the condenser you have has that accessory. Anything below 10x requires the swing in lens generally.


Attachments:
下载.jpg
下载.jpg [ 70.73 KiB | Viewed 1636 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 3:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:03 am
Posts: 1102
I believe that condenser uses a slide in and out lens. You should be able to move the condenser top in and out as I recall.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 2:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:45 am
Posts: 89
MichaelG. wrote:

Alternatively; you could try the 'afocal' arrangement [with a standard lens on the camera], which is much closer to how the 'zoom eyepiece' was intended to be used.

MichaelG.

can i use industrial camera lens? like this?,they are very cheap in china.
https://picclick.com/1pc-Used-Good-TAMRON-25mm-114-Lens-182848145278.html
https://www.ebay.com/itm/163059545286
https://picclick.com/TAMRON-20HC-25mm-116-industrial-CCD-camera-lens-162131791056.html


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 8:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Posts: 669
Location: NorthWest England
92111 wrote:
MichaelG. wrote:

Alternatively; you could try the 'afocal' arrangement [with a standard lens on the camera], which is much closer to how the 'zoom eyepiece' was intended to be used.

MichaelG.

can i use industrial camera lens? like this?,they are very cheap in china.
https://picclick.com/1pc-Used-Good-TAMRON-25mm-114-Lens-182848145278.html
https://www.ebay.com/itm/163059545286
https://picclick.com/TAMRON-20HC-25mm-116-industrial-CCD-camera-lens-162131791056.html

Those industrial lenses are typically 'C mount' or 'CS mount' [same mounting but different flange-focus]
https://www.ikegami.com/cb/products/pdf/tech/lensmount.pdf
... Do you have mount adapter for the Sony? or do you also have a 'C mount' camera'

I notice that you wrote, on 29-October:
Quote:
i need time to do that ,my two hand sony has no lens ,and i have no money now.
i find my sony not good at record vedio,i don't like take photos ,l like vedio

... so I am a unsure about your intentions

MichaelG.
.
.
Edit: Different C-Mount lenses cover various 'image circles' ... Longer focal length length lenses [around 35 to 45 mm] are likely to give better coverage on the Sony Nex5 sensor. ... The short focal lengths will probably 'vignette' quite severely.
.
Edit: Here is a useful discussion:
https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3052859

_________________
Too many 'projects'


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 11:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:45 am
Posts: 89
Hi mrsonchus
how can i get right from left


Attachments:
ws_labelled-leitz-full-opti.jpg
ws_labelled-leitz-full-opti.jpg [ 159.76 KiB | Viewed 462 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 11:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:42 pm
Posts: 3096
Location: Cumbria, UK
Hmm, that certainly looks like the reduction-lens I have...... I don't really know how to proceed exactly, but my first move would be a disassembly of the housing to 'get to the basic unit' that is the same as mine....

I'd suggest a new thread with this one, as it'll catch the eye more of some of the absolute experts here in the forum when it comes to the refurbishment, restoration and alteration of 'scopes. There are several very experienced and skilled folk here that will be able to give you some far more accurate advice than I.

Looks very promising so-far though. Interested to see how this one goes.

regards, John B.

_________________
John B
my website


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 11:55 am
Posts: 753
Location: Arnold, Missouri USA
mnmyco wrote:
I have a canon 60d and an ortholux with a trinocular head. I use this:

https://www.amazon.com/OMAX-Microscope- ... B01D914LT2
It works in any eyepiece so I do not need all the other attachments. It is a built in 2x lens.

mnmyco


This OMAX adapter works very well with the Nikon trinocular head. The shoulders of the adapter sit right on top of the photo tube, and this supports my EOS 7D much more securely than just the 23mm end that fits into the eyepiece.

Radazz

_________________
Arnold, Missouri
Wild Heerbrugg M20
Olympus IX70 HMC
Olympus BX40 Phase Contrast
Nikon Labophot 2
Nikon Optiphot 66
Some Spencers and a few Bosch and Lombs


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:03 pm
Posts: 59
Radazz wrote:
mnmyco wrote:
I have a canon 60d and an ortholux with a trinocular head. I use this:

https://www.amazon.com/OMAX-Microscope- ... B01D914LT2
It works in any eyepiece so I do not need all the other attachments. It is a built in 2x lens.

mnmyco


This OMAX adapter works very well with the Nikon trinocular head. The shoulders of the adapter sit right on top of the photo tube, and this supports my EOS 7D much more securely than just the 23mm end that fits into the eyepiece.

Radazz


I agree that a trinocular head is the way to go with this thing if, like you and me,a heavy camera is going to be used. It also eliminates the tendency of the camera to rotate if you have not achieved perfect balance, or do not have a set screw in to hold it in place.

mnmyco


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited