Using a ZWO CMOS camera for microscopy

Here you can discuss everything related to taking light micrographs and videos.
rpsfam1

Using a ZWO CMOS camera for microscopy

#1 Post by rpsfam1 » Fri Jan 01, 2021 5:15 am

Hi Everyone,

I am new to imaging through a microscope and am having some problems. I have a ZWO ASI385MC CMOS camera (used mainly for astrophotography) with the following specs:

Sensor: Sony 1/2″ CMOS IMX385 color
Diagonal: 8.35mm
Resolution: 2.12 MP
Pixel Array: 1936 x 1096
Pixel Size: 3.75 µm x 3.75 µm
Minimum Exposure: 32 µs

I have an AmScope Stereo Zoom Trinocular (https://www.amazon.c...1?ie=UTF8&psc=1) and

a Swift Compound Trinocular (https://www.amazon.c...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1)

Images through the eyepieces on both scopes are truly beautiful - razor sharp, colorful and full of contrast. However, when I try to image in either one with my ASI385MC, the images are soft (I cannot seem to get a tight focus at all) and the colors are way off. I've tried playing with the white balance and the gain/exposure settings but nothing helps (using sharpcap for this). Both scopes came with "photo-tubes" to attach the camera to the trinocular but they do not have any optical elements in them. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? tried calling tech support but answer and no reply to my messages.

Thanks in advance for any and all help/advice.

Patrick

MichaelG.

Re: Using a ZWO CMOS camera for microscopy

#2 Post by MichaelG. » Fri Jan 01, 2021 6:08 am

Welcome, Patrick

Your camera should be excellent for microscopy
... so the problem ‘must’ be either vibration or optics.

Could you please share some of your results

I am not familiar with either of those microscopes, but there will surely be someone here that knows them.

If you can take some photos of a stage micrometer, or some reasonable substitute, that would be most helpful.

MichaelG.

Ref. https://www.microscopemaster.com/micros ... ments.html
Too many 'projects'

Scarodactyl