Taking it to the next level

Here you can discuss everything related to taking light micrographs and videos.
btschumy

Taking it to the next level

#1 Post by btschumy » Sun Jan 08, 2017 3:35 am

I'm still fairly new to microphotography. Only been at it a couple of weeks. However, now I'm wondering what I need to do to take my imaging to the next level. I've seen many jaw dropping shots from you guys and wonder what I need to do to get there. Things I've considered.

1. Read more and practice (Duh).
2. Get some better objectives. I have achromatic objectives and wonder if FL or App would make a noticeable difference. In some of the images below I do see some CA.
3. Learn how to focus stack to increase depth of field.
4. Get a better camera. I am using an 9 year old Canon 450 (XSi).
5. Get my microscope serviced. It is not in bad shape but there does seem to be a slight haze when looking down the trinocular tube without an eyepiece.
6. Work on my post-processing techniques.

Below are some of my better shots so you can see what level I'm at now. How do I get better?
Attachments
Closterium & Diatom.jpg
Closterium & Diatom.jpg (15.12 KiB) Viewed 5543 times
Peritrich.jpg
Peritrich.jpg (38.01 KiB) Viewed 5543 times
Unknown Ciliate.jpg
Unknown Ciliate.jpg (32.52 KiB) Viewed 5543 times
Spirogyra.jpg
Spirogyra.jpg (45.7 KiB) Viewed 5543 times
Algae.jpg
Algae.jpg (60.93 KiB) Viewed 5543 times
Bill Tschumy
Leitz SM-D LUX
AO Spencer "Cycloptic" Stereo Microscope (Series 56C)

Pat Thielen

Re: Taking it to the next level

#2 Post by Pat Thielen » Sun Jan 08, 2017 4:33 am

Hi there!