Can your camera see as much as your eye?

Here you can discuss everything related to taking light micrographs and videos.
btschumy

Can your camera see as much as your eye?

#1 Post by btschumy » Sun Feb 05, 2017 5:44 am

I'm still pretty new at imaging through a microscope. I've gone from:

1. Afocal imaging with an iPhone, to
2. Direct objective projection onto the sensor, to
3. Eyepiece projection onto the sensor, to
4. Afocal imaging with a Canon 700D and a 40mm lens.

The last option was suggested to me by some people on the Phtomacrograhy forum that seem to know what they are talking about.

My images have improved with each step although they are subtle changes.

However, it is still the case that I see more detail visually on my wet mounts than I'm capturing with the camera. Is that just the way it is or am I still missing something? I'm tethering with the mirror up before taking the shot so I think vibration is under control.

One possibility is that the eye can accommodate and give a better perceived depth of field than that camera can. Is that what causes this?

Thoughts?

Bill
Bill Tschumy
Leitz SM-D LUX
AO Spencer "Cycloptic" Stereo Microscope (Series 56C)

75RR

Re: Can your camera see as much as your eye?

#2 Post by 75RR » Sun Feb 05, 2017 9:26 am

A camera can never match what you see though the eyepieces, but vibration, among other reasons - such as a lack of parfocality, can put you further away than you should be.
Even though your camera is tethered (or despite that), you may want to look through the eyepieces every now and again to test for vibration when you activate the shutter. There should be none at all. Even the smallest perceptible vibration will affect sharpness.
Zeiss Standard WL (somewhat fashion challenged) & Wild M8
Olympus E-P2 (Micro Four Thirds Camera)

btschumy

#3 Post by btschumy » Sun Feb 05, 2017 3:42 pm

A camera can never match what you see though the eyepieces