OMAX microscope imaging problem - photos are blue?

Here you can discuss everything related to taking light micrographs and videos.
ecprimate

OMAX microscope imaging problem - photos are blue?

#1 Post by ecprimate » Thu May 31, 2018 7:06 pm

Hi all,

I'm a PhD student on a very tight budget, and I bought an OMAX microscope with imaging capabilities last year (https://www.amazon.com/OMAX-40X-2000X-B ... op?ie=UTF8). I'm trying to use it for cell counts on blood smears (stained with Wright Giemsa) for part of my dissertation. While the slides look great through the microscope eyepieces (RBCs stained pink, WBCs stained blue/purple, background white) the images I capture with the imaging software once hooking up to the USB are really blue and completely obscure the nice coloring I see through the eyepieces (I attached a captured photo here).

I've tried everything I can think of and have played around with the auto white-balance features in the software, but nothing is working. Does anyone have any thoughts? I'm new to microscope use and don't know too much just yet.

Thanks everyone!
Attachments
omax1.jpg
omax1.jpg (201.13 KiB) Viewed 6513 times

75RR

Re: OMAX microscope imaging problem - photos are blue?

#2 Post by 75RR » Thu May 31, 2018 9:19 pm

I've tried everything I can think of and have played around with the auto white-balance features in the software, but nothing is working.
Despite your efforts I would still vote for WB (White Balance) as the most likely suspect. Make sure you have a white background (or at least one that is as white as possible when you set the White Balance).
Zeiss Standard WL (somewhat fashion challenged) & Wild M8
Olympus E-P2 (Micro Four Thirds Camera)

mrsonchus

#3 Post by mrsonchus » Thu May 31, 2018 9:52 pm