Microscope Camera MediaCybernetics Evolution MP

Here you can discuss everything related to taking light micrographs and videos.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Norbert
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:38 am

Microscope Camera MediaCybernetics Evolution MP

#1 Post by Norbert » Mon Aug 05, 2019 9:23 am

Dear members,

At work we have this old MediaCybernetics Evolution MP microscope camera dusting away on one of our microscopes. It's currently hooked up to a crappy pc (with Windows XP) which is not workable anymore. Most of the other pcs we have around here are Windows 10 and I'm wondering if there's any way to connect this camera to a newer pc and bring back to live again.

On the website of Media Cybernetics (http://www.mediacy.com/device/media-cyb ... ion-mp/108) I found that it requires a QCAM driver, but these drivers only go up to Windows 7 according to QI Imaging.

Does anybody have an idea to work around this and save this little buddy from complete obsolescence?

Cheers,
Norbert
Attachments
Cam 2.png
Cam 2.png (360.86 KiB) Viewed 1075 times
Cam 1.png
Cam 1.png (414.69 KiB) Viewed 1075 times

User avatar
mrsonchus
Posts: 3573
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:42 pm
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: Microscope Camera MediaCybernetics Evolution MP

#2 Post by mrsonchus » Mon Aug 05, 2019 10:56 am

I think, for backwards-compatibility presumably, that Windows 10 has the facility to run programs in other version modes - you may be able to run the camera software that uses this driver 'in Windows 7 mode'.
John B

Hobbyst46
Posts: 2157
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:02 pm

Re: Microscope Camera MediaCybernetics Evolution MP

#3 Post by Hobbyst46 » Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:18 am

A totally crazy idea: if the camera is connected to the PC via a USB cable, why not try the free downloadable software MICAM (on any Windows version) - perhaps it will recognize the camera ? it is not a very old camera I think ?
Zeiss Standard GFL+Canon EOS-M10, Olympus VMZ stereo

Roldorf
Posts: 341
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:58 pm
Location: Northern Germany

Re: Microscope Camera MediaCybernetics Evolution MP

#4 Post by Roldorf » Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:26 pm

Are you sure it's USB the only one I could find is a firewire version. See here http://www.svision.com.cn/uploadfile/20 ... 833624.pdf

With Image-pro software.

You can still get the software for Windows 10. See here.

http://www.mediacy.com/support/imagepro/updates/

Edit: you can also get USB to firewire adaptors for very little money.
Alan
Bresser Science Infinity 4x 10x 40x 60x 100x oil. Canon EOS 4000d
Optika SFX 90

Norbert
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Microscope Camera MediaCybernetics Evolution MP

#5 Post by Norbert » Tue Aug 06, 2019 12:21 am

Thank you for your replies! Yes, its connection is Firewire, no USB. I might indeed try to get hold of a Firewire-USB adapter and see if that works.
Unfortunately, there is no Image Pro subscription here at work as this camera was operated with Olysia Bioport software.

Scarodactyl
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 9:09 pm

Re: Microscope Camera MediaCybernetics Evolution MP

#6 Post by Scarodactyl » Tue Aug 06, 2019 1:33 am

Firewire and usb aren't really compatible, fundamentally. These converters exist but the reviews aren't very good, since a perfect adapter isn't really possible.

PeteM
Posts: 647
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:22 am
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

Re: Microscope Camera MediaCybernetics Evolution MP

#7 Post by PeteM » Tue Aug 06, 2019 2:04 am

Seems to me the simplest thing is to buy a used Windows 7 laptop and dedicate it for scope use. Around here it might be $125 for something like a pretty decent but old IBM Thinkpad. Don't know the quality of that camera - but I'd guess it's worth more than the $125 or so?? Sounds like the trick will be finding a machine with a Firewire port.

Norbert
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Microscope Camera MediaCybernetics Evolution MP

#8 Post by Norbert » Tue Aug 06, 2019 4:36 am

I guess you're right PeteM.
It's so unfortunate the connectivity of these old microscope cameras is what's keeping them in the past, not the camera itself.
I'm also looking into the possibility of getting it to work with MICAM, but that's not giving any result either.

MichaelG.
Posts: 1486
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: Microscope Camera MediaCybernetics Evolution MP

#9 Post by MichaelG. » Tue Aug 06, 2019 4:48 am

Scaraodactyl makes a very important point !
... and PeteM has the simple answer.

I would just add that PCMCIA cards are [or at least were] available, which implement FireWire effectively .... and that also that [until a few years ago] most Macs had FireWire ports and may produce some sort of image, even though OS X is not supported by MediaCybernetics.

MichaeG.

.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_1394
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Persona ... ssociation
Too many 'projects'

MichaelG.
Posts: 1486
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: Microscope Camera MediaCybernetics Evolution MP

#10 Post by MichaelG. » Tue Aug 06, 2019 5:42 am

Norbert wrote:At work we have this old MediaCybernetics Evolution MP microscope camera dusting away on one of our microscopes. It's currently hooked up to a crappy pc (with Windows XP) which is not workable anymore. Most of the other pcs we have around here are Windows 10 and I'm wondering if there's any way to connect this camera to a newer pc and bring back to live again.
I think the BIG question is: Do you have a licensed copy of the software on that 'crappy pc' ?
... If so: don't scrap the PC yet; you will probably want [at least] the licence details.

MichaelG.
.
http://www.mediacy.com/support/imageproplus
Too many 'projects'

Post Reply