New to this: looking to record video on my DSLR

Here you can discuss everything related to taking light micrographs and videos.
scoperguy

New to this: looking to record video on my DSLR

#1 Post by scoperguy » Thu Jan 02, 2020 6:44 pm

Hey everyone, I'm new to the world of microphotography and just picked up a Omax microscope from the thrift store for a couple bucks. It is missing the eyepieces which is a bummer, but I've seen online that they aren't terribly expensive (I have the typical 23mm eyepiece).

Anyway, that aside I'm trying to figure out how to properly hookup my DSLR to the eyepiece so I can record video. There have been a few ways that I've read but I'm looking for an affordable option under $150 if possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The microscope doesn't have a C mount (that's the vertical tube right?), just the binocular eyepieces.

So far I've read these different options:

Setup tripod and set camera close to the eyepiece like a human eye (afocal)

Purchase a c-mount adapter that connects to the DSLR (don't think I can do that since I don't have a c mount right?)

Purchase a special type of eyepiece that modifies the view for cameras (photo protection ocular?) and then do afocal

Create my own t-mount adapter (something like this https://youtu.be/cKxHbIGtXj0)

Get a telescope t-mount adapter (seem to be more common/cheaper) and then a 1.25" to 23mm adapter for the microscope

EDIT: I found these 2 different adapters on eBay. Would either of these work to connect my Nikon DSLR to my microscope? Also the cheaper one looks like it doesn't have an eyepiece built in, how would my camera be able to see anything or is something else needed?

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 4395338426

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 3545661999

Thanks again for your help/advice!
Last edited by scoperguy on Thu Jan 02, 2020 8:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

david_b

Re: New to this: looking to record video on my DSLR