Motic Image Plus for Mac

Here you can discuss topics such as focus stacking, stitching and other techniques that relate to the processing of micrographs.
Post Reply
Message
Author
photomicro
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 10:28 am
Location: UK

Motic Image Plus for Mac

#1 Post by photomicro » Sat Sep 21, 2019 2:00 pm

A friend has asked me to test if a Moticam 2300 USB 2 camera works, as I have a microscope and they do not. Unfortunately, he cannot find the software disc.

The Motic Images Plus 2 software seems readily available as a trial (2 weeks) from their website, but strangely, only for Windows, not a Mac.

You may have guessed, I have a Mac. Hence at the moment, I can't see if it works.

The device connects via USB, and the green light on the camera comes on when I do so, but the camera does not appear as a device in the filer, nor is is detected by Apple Image Capture.

I wonder if anyone who uses one of these types of Motic cameras can help?

thanks, Mike.

Hobbyst46
Posts: 2181
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:02 pm

Re: Motic Image Plus for Mac

#2 Post by Hobbyst46 » Sat Sep 21, 2019 2:48 pm

photomicro wrote:
Sat Sep 21, 2019 2:00 pm
...A friend has asked me to test if a Moticam 2300 USB 2 camera works, as I have a microscope and they do not. Unfortunately, he cannot find the software disc..
Perhaps MICAM works with this camera ? at least for Windows users, it is free as a complete package, not just a trial. The latest version I know about is MICAM 2.
Zeiss Standard GFL+Canon EOS-M10, Olympus VMZ stereo

jfiresto
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 8:19 am
Location: Northern Germany

Re: Motic Image Plus for Mac

#3 Post by jfiresto » Sat Sep 21, 2019 2:59 pm

It appears you first need to register the camera to download the current Mac or Windows software, but then updates are free, whatever that means.
-John

MichaelG.
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: Motic Image Plus for Mac

#4 Post by MichaelG. » Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:01 pm

jfiresto wrote:
Sat Sep 21, 2019 2:59 pm
It appears you first need to register the camera to download the current Mac or Windows software, but then updates are free, whatever that means.
I am pleased to say ... it means exactly what it says

Register, and you get access to all the downloads and free updates.
https://www.motic.com/user_login.html
https://www.motic.com/Eur_EuropeDownload/ [your country may differ]

Motic Images Plus 2.0 works with most of the older cameras
Motic Images Plus 3.0 only works with the newer cameras

Note: The camera acts as a 'dongle' but once the program is running, you can also use other cameras.

MichaelG.
Mac OSX user
Too many 'projects'

jfiresto
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 8:19 am
Location: Northern Germany

Re: Motic Image Plus for Mac

#5 Post by jfiresto » Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:51 pm

I will take your word for it. I can see the Images Plus links under Members.

If I click on one of them, the site asks me to login. After I do, it updates the page, hides the links and replaces them with:
Members
There is no software update compatible to your registered product, please proceed to the Warranty Registration page.
Hence, the odd wording of my post.
-John

MichaelG.
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: Motic Image Plus for Mac

#6 Post by MichaelG. » Sat Sep 21, 2019 7:12 pm

jfiresto wrote:
Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:51 pm
I will take your word for it. I can see the Images Plus links under Members.

If I click on one of them, the site asks me to login. After I do, it updates the page, hides the links and replaces them with:
Members
There is no software update compatible to your registered product, please proceed to the Warranty Registration page.
Hence, the odd wording of my post.
I am almost certain that you [or you friend] will need to have registered a specific camera on the 'Warranty Registration page' before you can do anything useful.
Note: I bought two 'new but obsolete' cameras very cheaply on ebay, and Motic happily registered both of them; and I can access all of the software.

MichaelG.
Too many 'projects'

MichaelG.
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: Motic Image Plus for Mac

#7 Post by MichaelG. » Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:28 pm

photomicro wrote:
Sat Sep 21, 2019 2:00 pm
A friend has asked me to test if a Moticam 2300 USB 2 camera works, as I have a microscope and they do not. Unfortunately, he cannot find the software disc. [ ... ]
:oops: Sorry, Mike
I've just noticed that I was replying to jfiresto instead of your good self

Hopefully the message makes sense ... but please eMail me if you need any further info.

MichaelG.
Too many 'projects'

jfiresto
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2019 8:19 am
Location: Northern Germany

Re: Motic Image Plus for Mac

#8 Post by jfiresto » Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:10 am

I am sure your help was appreciated! Besides, the misdirection was probably partly my fault. I may have been getting too familiar with Michael's problem and should have answered with a touch of proper aloofness.
-John

MichaelG.
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: Motic Image Plus for Mac

#9 Post by MichaelG. » Sun Sep 22, 2019 8:39 am

Thanks for that note, John

No harm done ... I'm sure everything will work-out fine.

MichaelG.
Too many 'projects'

photomicro
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 10:28 am
Location: UK

Re: Motic Image Plus for Mac

#10 Post by photomicro » Sun Sep 22, 2019 9:29 am

Thanks for the suggestions so far.

I have managed to register as a user on the Motic site successfully, but then trying to register the item is causing an issue.

The system seems to expect a product number starting with 'DM' or 'KM' (the only ones in the drop-down menu) whereas the serial number on this device starts with 'S' and is only 6 numbers long.

Subsequently, when I go to the s/w d/l page, as a 'member' it says I haven't got a product registered.

I am wondering if the relevant number would have been on (warranty) card that came with the device, rather than that on the device.

Michael, I will email you.

thanks again, Mike

MichaelG.
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:24 am
Location: NorthWest England

Re: Motic Image Plus for Mac

#11 Post by MichaelG. » Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:34 am

photomicro wrote:
Sun Sep 22, 2019 9:29 am
The system seems to expect a product number starting with 'DM' or 'KM' (the only ones in the drop-down menu) whereas the serial number on this device starts with 'S' and is only 6 numbers long.

Subsequently, when I go to the s/w d/l page, as a 'member' it says I haven't got a product registered.

I am wondering if the relevant number would have been on (warranty) card that came with the device, rather than that on the device.
I am guessing that 'S' might be the model number, Mike

I'm pretty sure that the 'DM' or 'KM' serial number will be [have been] on the packaging for the software and Warranty Card.
... it may also feature somewhere on the product [?]

To the best of my knowledge: One or other of you [but not both] will need to register the product.
... and that individual's account will then have access to the software.

I have found Motic Europe product support quite helpful ... you may need their advice.

MichaelG.
Too many 'projects'

Post Reply