Mounting medium question

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
MsLichen

Mounting medium question

#1 Post by MsLichen » Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:49 pm

I've pored through the beginner forum as well as searched on the main site, and couldn't find an answer.

My main interest is in making permanent slides of plant materials. It seems the favorite mounting medium is Euparal, but my searches for it in the USA have turned up nothing -- either the major suppliers have discontinued it or it is only available to professionals.

I'm at a loss -- what is the most low-risk (health-wise) mounting medium option you would recommend for a complete beginner in permanent slide making. Preferably not too pricey, so I can work on my technique without fear of bankruptcy ;)

Culicoides

Re: Mounting medium question

#2 Post by Culicoides » Fri Mar 02, 2018 5:02 am

Euparal, and euparal essence, is available in the UK from Anglian Lepidopterists supplies; you would have to enquire about shipping to USA.
Good luck..

Charles

#3 Post by Charles » Fri Mar 02, 2018 11:52 am

How about Canada Balsam? It's been used for ages for most permanent mounts
Another option is CytoSeal. I have never used it but it is inexpensive:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NC-5988-CytoSe ... 1438.l2649

clengman

#4 Post by clengman » Fri Mar 02, 2018 12:23 pm

https://www.bioquipinc.com/options/eupa ... ng-medium/

Looks like they sell to the public?

mrsonchus

#5 Post by mrsonchus » Fri Mar 02, 2018 2:28 pm

Hi, Brunel Microscopes in the UK have a range, aqueous (which I use for moss whole mounts), alcohol-based (Euparal) and 'Numount' resinous medium (which is my first-choice for permanent-mounts of sectioned & stained plant tissue slides)...

A screen-snip,
brunel mountants.JPG
brunel mountants.JPG (44.15 KiB) Viewed 8609 times
Here's the link to their web-page

I use all three of these and can tell you that they are all very good indeed and fit for purpose.