Mitosis stages of the Lily
Found in: Observations and pictures


Mitosis is cell division in eukaryotes. During mitosis the chromosomes are visible. Interphase is not considered part of cell division. The following stages are Prophase, Metaphase, Anaphase and Telophase.

Higher resolutions are, unfortunately not available. A magnification of 400x was used to obtain these images. The cells were treated with a dye that has a high affinity for DNA.


Interphase. The nucleus is visible


Prophase. Chromosomes are starting to form.


Metaphase. The chromosomes align at the equator of the cell.


Anaphase. The two sister chromatids are separated.


Telophase. The spindle fibers are still visible between the two nuclei. The cytoplasm has not yet divided.


This site uses cookies. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. For more information more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.