My first attempt at using a hand microtome

Here you can discuss sample and specimen preparation issues.
pippo1234

My first attempt at using a hand microtome

#1 Post by pippo1234 » Fri Apr 02, 2021 8:02 am

After various false starts and useful handholding from (Micro)Bob and John B I have finally got myself a bench microtome (the one from Brunel) and Olfa LBB blades.

This is my first attempt with a rosemary leaf (phase contrast and dark field). Apart from the air bubbles, the result far exceeded my expectations about what I could achieve with a hand microtome.

Greg Howald

Re: My first attempt at using a hand microtome

#2 Post by Greg Howald » Fri Apr 02, 2021 11:13 am

That's a really good job especially when new to the process. I'm gonna send all my specimens to you so you can cut and mount them for me. It will give you lotsa practice.😃😃😃.
Well done.
Greg

Voyager-1

#3 Post by Voyager-1 » Fri Apr 02, 2021 11:26 am

Pippo1234,

Most excellent specimen!
I have to jump on the bandwagon! And in the process of ordering one of those Brunel bench microtomes.
Could not locate a supplier in the US, got in touch with Brunel Microscope Ltd.
Would like to know which blades from Olfa LBB blades you are using.... saw many types Olfa makes.
I do believe I watched a youtube video by John B,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_7WhkEvj19U

Again, Great slices!

V

pippo1234

#4 Post by pippo1234 » Fri Apr 02, 2021 2:49 pm

Would like to know which blades from Olfa LBB blades you are using.... saw many types Olfa makes.
These https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00 ... UTF8&psc=1

as suggested by MicroBob. LBB is the model.

MicroBob

#5 Post by MicroBob » Fri Apr 02, 2021 7:14 pm

Hi,
nice sections! I like the dark field image better than the phasec ontrast one. For botanic sections phase doesn't offer additional detail and adds artifacts. Next you might try staining. Wacker W3A is quick and nice.

Bob

Voyager-1

#6 Post by Voyager-1 » Sat Apr 03, 2021 12:39 am

Pippo1234,