I'd like some advice

Here you can discuss sample and specimen preparation issues.
Greg Howald

I'd like some advice

#1 Post by Greg Howald » Fri Oct 01, 2021 3:17 pm

It has taken a long time for me to figure out how to set up and maintain an aquascape. Results are wonderful. There are hoardes of paramecium at the surface. I don't know what other things live a different levels. All of these things are fragile, mostly water and disintegrate when they die.
How can I make permanent slides? Do I need to heat set the specimens? Should I add dye while they are living?
I'd like some advice. I have some fairly nice equipment and many accessories but I'm still new to this. I seem to have to right stuff without the knowledge and experience required.
Thanks, Greg

75RR

Re: I'd like some advice

#2 Post by 75RR » Fri Oct 01, 2021 5:38 pm

No doubt some more knowledgeable members will chip in soon, but in the meantime you might want to look into Walter Dioni's articles.

I believe some of them cover your area of interest.

https://www.microscopy-uk.org.uk/mag/wd-articles.html
Zeiss Standard WL (somewhat fashion challenged) & Wild M8
Olympus E-P2 (Micro Four Thirds Camera)

Greg Howald

#3 Post by Greg Howald » Fri Oct 01, 2021 7:24 pm

Wow! That's a lot of info. Looks like I have some studying to do. Thanks.😃 Greg

TonyT

#4 Post by TonyT » Mon Oct 04, 2021 2:06 pm

A very difficult subject to make a permanent mount. First problem is to get the Paramecium to stick to the slide or coverslip. Standard practice is to mount them on a coverslip, but easier to handle when mounted on a slide. Mix equal parts of egg white and distilled water, shake well and filter. Apply a very thin smear to very clean slide (absolute alcohol with a drop of hydrochloric acid recommended for cleaning slides, dry slide with filter paper).
When almost dry add a drop of water containing Paramecium and spread as thin as possible. Gently heat the slide to coagulate the albumen (egg white).