Slide Storage

Here you can discuss sample and specimen preparation issues.
neal Shields

Slide Storage

#1 Post by neal Shields » Tue Aug 23, 2022 2:32 pm

I purchased some slides from a major supplier and this notice came with them.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/196001110 ... ed-public/

The box they came in was designed to store slides on edge just like every slide box I have ever seen.

I am currently studying liver slides. Livers are really cool if you get into detail.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9CTyKLefn9E

I have about 6 different liver slides of various age and stains. The best slide I have was made by a biology student in... (wait for it)... 1939!

I spent most of my life in the automotive industry and lived through the EPA/OSHA mandated glue formulation changes. It came on so suddenly that the car companies didn't have time to retool to bosses and clips.

My mentor purchased a Lincoln MK 3 and was driving a Japanese businessman back to the airport when a huge chunk of genuine wood paneling fell off. (The Japanese businessman never let him up over "American C#@%".

I suspect that something similar has happened here unless it has taken them 200 years to notice that coverglasses slip?

But seriously is Canadian Balsam a health hazard and "known to the state of California to cause cancer and birth defects"?

Neal

PeteM

Re: Slide Storage

#2 Post by PeteM » Tue Aug 23, 2022 11:43 pm

Pretty sure the slide boxes are meant to be opened horizontally but stored vertically.

Somewhat like a book the boxes lay flat for use, but are then shelved vertically. With the slides inserted in number sequence, the opening part of the box will be to the left.

Appreciated the "NinjaNerd" link.

An Ebay seller once shipped a bunch of once-decent-quality slides held together one on top of the other with rubber bands. About half of them were destroyed in the process - cracked and slipped cover slips etc. - as they violated most every suggestion for storing slides.