Acrylic Mediums for Slide Mounting

Here you can discuss sample and specimen preparation issues.
MontyZ

Acrylic Mediums for Slide Mounting

#1 Post by MontyZ » Wed Oct 19, 2022 11:18 pm

I’m a noobie so I have no experience in mounting microscope slides, however, I had an idea that might be useful and I was wondering if anyone had tried this to see how it works.

I’ve come across a few instances where clear nail polish was used to mount slides and Walter Dioni also has an article on the web. microscopy-uk.org.uk/mag/indexmag.html?http://www.microscopy-uk.org.uk/mag/art ... olish.html

Over the long term nail polish may not be satisfactory, but in the short term seems to be pretty good. The use of nail polish for mounting made me think that “acrylic mediums” may work as good as nail polish or maybe even better.

As a painter using acrylic artist paint I am aware that there is a large assortment of acrylic polymers used to modify acrylic paint and are typically marketed as “mediums.” Companies such as Liquitex and Golden sell a whole range of these mediums in convenient and reasonably priced sizes, for example Liquitex Gloss Fluid Medium 250ml/8.79oz for $8-$10. Gloss fluid medium is a medium that has fewer ingredients than many of the others and also has many physical properties most suited to slide mounting:

- dries clear
- fast drying
- high adhesion qualities, adheres to most flexible and rigid surfaces
- the main ingredient is an acrylate polymer acting as a binder
- other ingredients are typically stabilizers and defoamers
- most acrylates have a low refractive index of around 1.50
- highly durable
- can be thinned somewhat with water
- minimal shrinkage

I know that these physical properties don’t address how a medium will react with a specimen or with a stain, but I was hoping someone has tried it out or is willing to give it a try. Liquitex Gloss Fluid Medium is also sold in a thicker Gloss Gel Medium.
Omax M82EZ with 5 MP eyepiece camera

woyjwjl