Reasonable Expectations for Cleanliness of New Materials

Here you can discuss sample and specimen preparation issues.
rnabholz

Reasonable Expectations for Cleanliness of New Materials

#1 Post by rnabholz » Sat Dec 19, 2015 1:57 am

I have limited experience, and so would like to pose a question regarding some cover slips that I just bought.

These came nicely packaged, foil wrapped, plastic box with a foam divider that held four groups of 50 cover slips each.

Pulled my first one out, and it seems to be covered with what I would describe as a fog. I will come off with some breath and a kimwipe after a couple of tries.

I checked samples from the other groups, and they too have the "fog".

Is this normal? Should I have to expect to clean each cover slip before use?

einman

Re: Reasonable Expectations for Cleanliness of New Materials

#2 Post by einman » Sat Dec 19, 2015 2:14 am

Do they indicate they are "clean" or "pre-cleaned"?.

It has been my experience that that is what separates some chiese made glass from those brands made in other countries. They cut corners. Dirty glass saves a lot of time and subsequently money.

What is the brand and site of manufacture?

lorez

#3 Post by lorez » Sat Dec 19, 2015 2:16 am

I see professional quality cover slips most (99%) of the time and they have no fog, dust, or contamination, and do not need to be cleaned. In lesser circumstances I have seen what you are describing. Not knowing what you purchased it's difficult to say more.

lorez

rnabholz

#4 Post by rnabholz » Sat Dec 19, 2015 2:44 am

Thanks Guys.

They are Karter Scientific. "Microscope Cover Glass 22x22mm 0.13-0.16mm"

200 Count. Cost through Amazon was about $5. http://amzn.com/B005Z4RWKM

Maybe I am shopping at the bottom of the quality ladder? If so, I would appreciate any advice on a quality alternative.

Thanks

Rod

lorez

#5 Post by lorez » Sat Dec 19, 2015 2:53 am