Pond aquarium / fish tank - how do you go about installing and keeping it?

Here you can discuss sample and specimen preparation issues.
MicroBob

Pond aquarium / fish tank - how do you go about installing and keeping it?

#1 Post by MicroBob » Wed Oct 31, 2018 2:00 pm

Hi togehter,

I have seen that some members here keep a pond aquarium or two. This has inspired me to set up one too early this year and I have made the first limited experiences. I have never had a closer contact to fish tanks or the like so I have no experience I can transfer from that.

My pond aquarium in running very nicely and I always enjoy to look at it's development and it' inhabitants. Now I would like to collect some additional input here to form a kind a guide from it. I would like to describe my aquarium first and hope to get some alternative ideas, additions or corrections here.

My aquarium has about 30l volume. It sits in a bay window facing westward in my room in the first floor and it gets a lot of light. In Summer temperatures reach 30 °C, the rest of the year they are aroud 20°C. I filled the aquarium with 3cm of plant earth, covered it with a disposable paper kitchen towel (ZEWA-Rolle in Germany) and then 2cm of well washed gravel 2mm-5mm. It was then filled with water from a pond and plants were pushed into the gravel. In summer the water started to turn green and I installed an air pump that was set to work for a couple of hours each morning and evening. This solved the green problem. In September the plants had grown so much that I had to cut away 2/3 of them. With the plants I accidentaly got water snails that seem to feel well. All together the pond works fine and theres is always a lot of life in the water. If necessary I top of the aquarium with water from a dehumidifier to avoid too much lime content.

What are your experiences?

Pond size and how is it's influence?
Salt water pond?
Placement?
Lighting?
Accessories?
Collection and preparation of samples?