Plant or Alga?

Have problems identifying an organism? Ask for help here.
linuxusr

Plant or Alga?

#1 Post by linuxusr » Mon Oct 04, 2021 9:44 pm

I was surprised to find a helix, not the usual microscopial observation:

https://imgur.com/a/hNd34fu

I infuse timothy hay and alfalfa, so this could be a plant part. I think I’ll take some samples from each plant, separate the parts in different petri dishes, and take a look under my stereomicroscope.

It’d be nice to have a baseline to know whether I’m looking at a plant part or a micro specimen generated from the infusion, ambient air, etc.

I see no chloroplasts here, so I’m thinking this must be a plant part. What do you think?
Nikon AlphaPhot 2 < Zeiss Primostar 3, Full Köhler; Axiocam 208 Color < UHD LG
Aller Anfang ist schwer.

perrywespa

Re: Plant or Alga?

#2 Post by perrywespa » Mon Oct 04, 2021 9:55 pm

You didn't mention magnification and I'm no expert, but I think it's plant fiber. This is based on seeing similar images in the past. I'm sure someone will correct or confirm my suspicion.
Perry
Insatiably curious.

mrsonchus

#3 Post by mrsonchus » Tue Oct 05, 2021 1:05 am

perrywespa wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 9:55 pm
You didn't mention magnification and I'm no expert, but I think it's plant fiber. This is based on seeing similar images in the past. I'm sure someone will correct or confirm my suspicion.
Yes, it's a section of a Xylem vessel-element's lignified secondary-wall by the looks of it - primary Xylem I think.

Found an image from an Aloe dissection I made a few years back,
websize_vessels_in_aloe_leaf.JPG
websize_vessels_in_aloe_leaf.JPG (110.85 KiB) Viewed 2112 times
Certainly looks like a candidate.
John B

linuxusr

#4 Post by linuxusr » Wed Oct 06, 2021 2:49 pm

mrsonchus wrote:
Tue Oct 05, 2021 1:05 am
perrywespa wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 9:55 pm
Yes, it's a section of a Xylem vessel-element's lignified secondary-wall by the looks of it - primary Xylem I think.