This is one of them, a 1937 B&L I think maybe HSEAT

What equipment do you use? Post pictures and descriptions of your microscope(s) here!
Bemoc

This is one of them, a 1937 B&L I think maybe HSEAT

#1 Post by Bemoc » Fri Oct 09, 2020 7:44 pm

Here is the link, https://imgur.com/a/GxoVebY, and I am a lousy photographer. The illuminator is an AO. Don't know why they eyepieces look spotty, must be a reflection. It all works great but needs collimation probably and maybe a new owner who understands it better. :?

BramHuntingNematodes

Re: This is one of them, a 1937 B&L I think maybe HSEAT

#2 Post by BramHuntingNematodes » Fri Oct 09, 2020 10:23 pm

Gorgeous classic you have there. Those are the best Compens eyepieces of that generation in my opinion-- good relief and fov. They will perform badly on all those lenses with the exception of the fluorite immersion lens. I don't quite recognize the condenser. It looks like the usual Abbe but for that conical bit at the top. Are there any markings on it?

The coarse focus tension I think can be adjusted via some screws in the setup. It's substantially similar to my Dynoptic, so I can take a look. The fine focus is an enclosed lever system you probably don't want to disassemble unless you are comfortable putting futzy, small machine parts back together in the exact configuration you found them in. That mirror is in good shape just like you describe, and that illuminator is awesome. You just stick a bulb in there and point it at the mirror. I believe it has a focus and an iris, and the blue filter is to make the incandescent light less yellow. Wonderful machine, and if you can find some of the later big eyepieces, it uses much more like a modern instrument than it should.
1942 Bausch and Lomb Series T Dynoptic, Custom Illumination

Bemoc

#3 Post by Bemoc » Fri Oct 09, 2020 11:59 pm