My newly refurbished gemscope

What equipment do you use? Post pictures and descriptions of your microscope(s) here!
Scarodactyl

My newly refurbished gemscope

#1 Post by Scarodactyl » Sat Feb 05, 2022 10:55 pm

Hi everyone! I'm a jeweler and gem dealer in my day job, and I recently got a big pile of 'pop-out' stones from a former cash-4-gold seller (mixed, unsorted stones removed from gold jewelry before they send the metal off for refining). I haven't had a personal gemscope in a while, since for occasional usage I can use my M400. But when sorting through a big pile of stones the tilting base and 3d view of a gemological microscope are nonnegotiable for ergonomics.
Anyway, that was part of it. The other part was that I spotted a Wild M10 body on eBay--no focus mount, but a standard planapo 1x objective, plus a third party mechanism for centering the objective over either light path for better photos.
Not too long ago I said I was done with high end stereos, but it turns out
Not only does it have a centering mechanism, but there's actually a whole fiber optic coaxial illuminator mechanism fit into that space which I have yet to try. The scope needed a focus mount and a head. I luckily had an extra M450 coarse/fine focus mount and was able to adapt that on with an intermediate plate drilled from aluminum, which was fairly easy to make with a few measurements and a 3d-printed drill template.
The head was easier--any Wild or Leica m series head will work (aside from M5 heads). Still, I wanted a trinocular head and decided to pick up the phototube from one of these odd Leica MZ8 clones still made in China. I ordered it directly from Ningbo Microscopes.
It fits on perfectly and is much cheaper than a used trinocular Wild and Leica head, but the one I got is a little misaligned which is a bummer. I'll have to see if I can fix it.