AmScope

What equipment do you use? Post pictures and descriptions of your microscope(s) here!
hughmort

AmScope

#1 Post by hughmort » Sat Jun 06, 2020 11:33 am

Hi all,

Curious to know what Amscope’s reputation is like? I am a beginner interested in a biological microscope with 100* oil immersion and high illumination dark field and phase contrast. Their prices seem low but I’m curious to know what their reputation is vs some of the bigger manufacturers and indeed the likes of Radical India on the other end of the spectrum.

With thanks,

Hugh

DonSchaeffer

Re: AmScope

#2 Post by DonSchaeffer » Sat Jun 06, 2020 2:01 pm

I bought two (lower end) microscopes from them and I am very happy with them. They brand and sell microscopes made in China to high standards. It's a company that markets a range of microscope utilities as well. The customer service is good (I used it). Return policy is good. I would recommend them.

Maryfox

#3 Post by Maryfox » Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:27 pm

My first microscope was an Amscope M149 that came bundled with an eyepiece camera. My one complaint is that the LED began to flicker which was annoying. My other complaint is not about the microscope: I wanted a mechanical stage. I went through 3 of them that failed because it is possible to run the gear off of the end of the gear path. That prompted me to buy a microscope with a built-in mechanical stage.

I love the camera and its software. It is a very low resolution camera. The software has more features than I'll probably ever use. What I like best is the ability to capture both an image and a video. I use it with my new scope. I'm looking at upgrading to a camera with higher resolution.

Good customer service.

hughmort

#4 Post by hughmort » Sat Jun 06, 2020 4:13 pm

Thanks for the feedback, it sounds promising.

Any thoughts on this model from the AmScope website:

40X-1000X Infinity-corrected Darkfield Microscope with LED Koehler Illumination and 1.2MP Low-noise Camera