Darkfield questions

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
PondScum

Darkfield questions

#1 Post by PondScum » Tue May 18, 2021 11:45 am

Hi-

I am very new to the field of microscopy and have recently learned about the existence of darkfield techniques. However, I don't understand everything that is involved. On a basic level, darkfield imaging can be achieved with a "normal" microscope using a homemade mask filter with a circular opaque region in the center that blocks light from traveling in a straight line from the light source to the eyepiece, while still allowing oblique illumination of the specimen. This gives an image of the specimen against a dark background. Am I correct so far? This seems pretty straightforward.

The thing that has me confused is that there also exist special darkfield condensers, darkfield objectives, and darkfield microscopes. I don't understand what these are doing. Are these just different ways of achieving the same thing? Can someone please explain, at a basic level, what these things do, how they differ from each other (and from the simple filter mask), and the pros and cons of each?

This video shows an amazing shot (to me) of pond life under darkfield illumination. The guy who made it says that he used an American Optical 110 with a filter mask like I described above. Is that really all there is to it?

Thank you!

dtsh

Re: Darkfield questions

#2 Post by dtsh » Tue May 18, 2021 1:59 pm