Total noob with an Olympus CH2/CHS

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
jg1647

Total noob with an Olympus CH2/CHS

#1 Post by jg1647 » Mon Jun 07, 2021 12:29 pm

It came with no filter, and has a halogen light. Should I buy filters? What colours? I was thinking blue because I think they came with a blue one from the factory but mine is a used scope. It appears in pretty good shape, haven’t tested the 100x oil yet because I’m waiting on the oil to arrive. Should I buy the filters sized for the filter holder, or one that just sits on the bottom light thing (the thing that light comes from before it goes through the condenser? Sorry I’m not sitting in front of it right now, and haven’t even checked to see if a filter holder is installed)? I’m not planning on upgrading to LED, I feel like the halogen is great and comfortable to look at, though the rheostat is a little rough in the area just before maximum brightness - it actually cuts out sometimes between about 80-90% and feels a little crusty in that area. I’ve never attempted servicing a rheostat, is it possible? Maybe desolder it and wash it in ipa?

Should I buy concave slides for looking at pond water? Or are standard slides ok? Do you re-use slides and just clean them with ipa? Or always discard and start with a fresh one? Are the extra wide field eyepieces worth getting? These ones seem nice, but I’m definitely still getting used to looking through the binoculars. My eyes adjust easily now, unlike the first day I bought it I had double vision - I can’t remember the term but I read about it on Wikipedia. Any tips for comfortable viewing and posture? I find it a little difficult to get that right, maybe I need a better chair and to elevate the scope.