first microscope

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
cris

first microscope

#1 Post by cris » Fri Oct 08, 2021 9:12 am

it's my first time here, so, forgive me if do something wrong.
I would like to know, if with those cheap usb microscope, and with a backlight, i could see some diatoms or paramecium, also, I've been trying to modify it with a laser pointer lens, to magnify the image even more, if anyone could help me, I would appreciate it
edit: if anyone have some idea about using laser lens to make a somehow better scope. about the power of the USB one i have, it can reasonably zoom in up to 100um
(idk how to calculate the "x" magnifying value)
thanks for your patience
Last edited by cris on Fri Oct 08, 2021 9:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dtsh

Re: first microscope

#2 Post by dtsh » Fri Oct 08, 2021 1:11 pm

Assuming we are both thinking of the same devices, I suspect that's a bit much to expect from one of the usb microscopes. I would be surprised if one could get more than 100x out of one and still have a reasonable image. That said, I haven't actually tried as I don't own one. At what I expect are the working magnifications, you would probably be able to see unicellular life, but I would be surprised if you could see it in any significant detail.

microcosmos

#3 Post by microcosmos » Fri Oct 08, 2021 3:13 pm

The USB microscopes are often used by stamp collectors. The issue I have with them (other than the optics) is that the digital images they produce have very low dynamic range so the highlights are all blown out and many of the actual details of the sample are lost. The colours are also off. This happens even at low magnifications.

But maybe there are usb microscopes with good image quality, I’m not sure.

PeteM

#4 Post by PeteM » Fri Oct 08, 2021 7:06 pm

Here's a better way to get excellent images at an affordable price.