Microscope requirements for botany

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Trsmiff

Microscope requirements for botany

#1 Post by Trsmiff » Sun Jan 09, 2022 10:56 pm

Hello all,

I have been IDing flowering plants successfully for years now with little more than a field guide and a 20x hand lens, but have started to get into bryophytes more recently. This is game changer as IDing of mosses typically requires views of the cellular structure. Whilst I am not a beginner botanist, I am certainly a beginner when it comes to microscopes. This is where I need some help.

I am looking at getting my first compound microscope and having dipped my toe into world of microscopes it is clear to see that there are lots of tools and techniques available for all types of subjects. I currently assume that all I require from a compound microscope is brightfield optics only. I may venture into studies of pollen and perhaps chromosome counts, but would other setups (e.g. phase contrast, DIC etc) be a strict necessity for the applications I'm looking at? If anyone can share their experience on this and what I should be looking for in a 'scope, it would be greatly appreciated.

Ultimately what this boils down to is that I am looking to invest in a 'scope that delivers relatively high quality optical performance without having to pay for extra niceties that I wouldn't really benefit from. I am looking at the used microscope market, to bag a gem at a good price, but getting lost amongst the infinite variety out there. Would I be better off getting a new budget 'scope and not be so worried about optical quality for what I need it to do, or is the prospect of a 2nd hand Alpha brand instrument simply the best way forward?

If either is true, suggestions of what models and features to look out for would be gratefully received. Budget wise I'm looking at somewhere around £1500 to get myself up and running.

Many thanks in advance!

Tom

dtsh