AmScope or Radical microscope for mycology beginner?

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Mycogirl

AmScope or Radical microscope for mycology beginner?

#1 Post by Mycogirl » Sat Feb 05, 2022 11:12 am

Hello everyone - does anyone have experience with AmScope or Radical microscopes, or views as to which is better? I'm a beginner looking for something I can use on a mycology course but also just to use for general interest and home stuff (pond water, blood, plant tissue etc). I need a compount scope with 500-1000 magnification, and I like the idea of the trinocular scopes and also the ability to use a darkfield filter. Both Radical and AmScope have models that offer all this for the £300-500 range, and Radical even has one that offers phase contrast in that price range. I love the idea of being able to play with that but I wonder if it is going to be any good at all or if it's just a gimmick. The cheapest AmScopes I can find that do phase contrast are many times that price. Thanks in advance for any thoughts, ideas, suggestions anyone has.

apochronaut

Re: AmScope or Radical microscope for mycology beginner?

#2 Post by apochronaut » Sun Feb 06, 2022 4:56 pm