Olympus BH-2 objectives

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Mycogirl

Olympus BH-2 objectives

#1 Post by Mycogirl » Tue Feb 22, 2022 9:11 am

I'm a novice looking for my first microscope, mainly for mycology, and thanks to advice and research on here and elsewhere have pretty much decided to aim for a nice used/refurbished Olympus BH-2. They seem to come up fairly regularly on eBay and I'm slowly getting some sense of the prices they go for, which vary quite a lot. One thing I can't quite work out though is how relevant it is to have genuine Olympus objectives, as quite a few of the advertised scopes seem to have apparently unbranded objectives, or at least the manufacturer is not visible in the listings photographs. Is there a big difference in the results one could expect to get from Olympus vs other objectives, and should this be something that significantly affects the price of a BH-2? Thanks very much for any thoughts or advice!

perrywespa

Re: Olympus BH-2 objectives

#2 Post by perrywespa » Tue Feb 22, 2022 1:04 pm

From what I've learned on this forum, many manufacturers' microscopes, Olympus included, are designed so the eyepieces correct some of the optical qualities of their objectives, such as spherical and chromatic abberation. Therefore, the scopes perform best when eyepiece and objective are from the same manufacturer. Having said that, I have generic 20X and 60X objectives on my Olympus CH-2 and they do well for me. The Oly versions were just too expensive. It ultimately depends on how critical one is and one's budget. Hope this helps and welcome to this wonder place!
Perry
Insatiably curious.

AntoniScott

#3 Post by AntoniScott » Tue Feb 22, 2022 1:24 pm

To Mycogirl:
The Olympus BH2 is an excellent choice compared to the endless variety of crap-shoot alternatives with objectives of unknown optical quality.