40x doesn't show a clear image.

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
WonderfulWafflez

40x doesn't show a clear image.

#1 Post by WonderfulWafflez » Wed Jul 20, 2022 1:00 am

I just started learning about my microscope and trying to use it. I've figured it out mostly but I just can't use my 40x zoom or 100x zoom! I thought it was a focusing issue yet any troubleshooting tips I've tried hasn't changed the image. When I look through the 40x zoom it is just a gray image and I can see some microbes on the lens (I think) but the sample doesn't show up! When I switch it to 10x or 4x I can see the sample fine...

https://ibb.co/mcXh3Hq

The image is a little unclear since I took it with my phone...
More info on my setup:
I was using slides on my samples, .12 - .16 mm
I did try focusing the 40x really close to the sample
I tried to adjust the lighting
Using a compound microscope

Edit: originally I thought it was a focusing issue but now I'm not sure what it is...
Last edited by WonderfulWafflez on Fri Jul 22, 2022 1:37 am, edited 3 times in total.

apochronaut

Re: 40x doesn't show a clear image.

#2 Post by apochronaut » Wed Jul 20, 2022 2:11 am

The term " zoom" complicates things. I don't know what you are zooming or how. Zoom was invented by a mfg. of professional microscopes using a balanced but complex rearranegement of optics but became compromised with cheap optical systems that provided zoom at the expense of quality.
Nevertheless you should get an image of some kind.
You need to detail A) what you are looking at. B) what the system you are looking at it through is. C) What you have been smoking leading up to your post.

WonderfulWafflez

#3 Post by WonderfulWafflez » Wed Jul 20, 2022 3:09 am

I'm sorry I meant 40x objective. Where I would look through the eyepiece to see the image I sent in the post.

And that smoking thing is a bit rude. I'm a beginner at using microscopes and I want help with my question.