medical student help deciding on an Olympus model please

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
tchall

medical student help deciding on an Olympus model please

#1 Post by tchall » Sat Sep 10, 2022 7:21 am

Hello nice to meet you all
I am a medical student and would like to pick a microscope with a trioccular head to add a camera in later
Have been looking to get phase contrast and Dark field as well as the standard objectives and was hoping to get infinity and a x60
to look at blood and urine. phase contrast for the urine.

I have been looking at the amscope line
link:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000035 ... 19835%21im

quite expensive

After reading your forum with intensity I see that a second hand Olympus may be a better option.
BH2 vs CX31 vs BX

Is it correct to say the the CHB range is the older and i should stick with BH2 CX or BX
could anyone give me any suggestions of what models to start with

I would appreciate any suggestions or help
many many thanks
TJ

PeteM

Re: medical student help deciding on an Olympus model please

#2 Post by PeteM » Sat Sep 10, 2022 7:42 am

TJ - your budget might be the deciding factor. A BH2 might be in $1000 range, nicely equipped. For medical use a BHTU with DPlan or SPlan objectives and a trinocular head might be ideal. It might be that adding polarization and a wave plate would be better for imaging urine than phase contrast - though it obviously depends on what you're looking for. Many medical specimens end up being stained, reducing the need for phase contrast.

A BX might be in the $2000+ up range. Your budget won't stretch near as far as with the older BH2 series. The CX might enter into it if you find one with good Olympus UIS objectives at a bargain price.