Olympus BH2 camera suggestions given my parts/equipment

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Ryanb

Olympus BH2 camera suggestions given my parts/equipment

#1 Post by Ryanb » Sat Nov 26, 2022 8:35 pm

So I have an Olympus BH2 BHTU and just bought the U-PMTVC, U-SPT, and the PE 2.5x as pictured here:
48F3B0A1-0683-479A-AC4F-D4FF7AFCD818.jpeg
48F3B0A1-0683-479A-AC4F-D4FF7AFCD818.jpeg (13.26 KiB) Viewed 1520 times
I need a camera to put on it and I’ve looked into a lot of options. I want to avoid the 1.67x piece due to rarity/costs but am really looking to take videos of what I see under the microscope. I have around 300-500 that I can spend on a camera and am happy to get it used on eBay for those prices. I’m very new to the field (1-2 weeks) and am happy to take all tips and suggestions. Thanks y’all!

Scarodactyl

Re: Olympus BH2 camera suggestions given my parts/equipment

#2 Post by Scarodactyl » Sat Nov 26, 2022 10:48 pm

The PE eyepiece will unfortunately do you no good, it is the wrong size and wrong corrections for your bh2. The U-SPT is no use either, it's for BX series heads and won't mesh with your setup mechanically. The pmtvc, is that a 1x or 0.33x?
Probably the only really good option for the BH2 is an NFK 2.5x and a full frame camera. Runner up is something like a 3.3x plus an MTV 0.33x reduction lens which might(?) cover micro 4/3 (would need confirmstion on this)
There is no really good solution for aps-c (the 1.67x exists but is so expensove that if you're married to aps-c you might want to consider a different microscope instead). It could be used with the nfk 2.5x but it comes at the cost of a lot of excess magnification/cropping. But in your budget range I'd probably do it anyeay--the money covers a nice but inexpensive aps-c camera like a Canon T6/T7 and an nfk 2.5x and you can probably live with the extra crop factor.

imkap

#3 Post by imkap » Sun Nov 27, 2022 12:14 am