which is the better microscope ?

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
dustcritter

which is the better microscope ?

#1 Post by dustcritter » Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:00 pm

Hey guys so im pretty new to microscopes due to only ever using a toy one as a kid and was very disapointed.

im looking for a microscope i can see blood, swabs of cheek, animal seman, plant cells, pond life

am i right in thinking i need a compound microscope ?

i am looking to spend between £100 - £200 i know its not much but i have narrawed it down to 2 choices
a microscope from the Apex range like the The Apex Practitioner or The Apex Researcher

or another model from the AMscope range but im not sure which is best for what i need it for as its a new hobby i want to get into

gekko

Re: which is the better microscope ?

#2 Post by gekko » Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:48 pm

Welcome to the forum! I am sure microscope will prove to be a very rewarding hobby. For what it is worth, if I were living the UK and if I wanted to buy a new microscope, I would consider one from Brunel as they have an excellent reputation.

75RR

#3 Post by 75RR » Tue Dec 08, 2015 3:52 pm

Good advice from gekko.
You may also want to have a look at the AmScope T490B if you can stretch your budget a little more, particularly if you are thinking of taking photographs.
Zeiss Standard WL (somewhat fashion challenged) & Wild M8
Olympus E-P2 (Micro Four Thirds Camera)

dustcritter

#4 Post by dustcritter » Tue Dec 08, 2015 5:33 pm

thanks for that guys :). im not really into taking pictures i just want it as a hobby for the time being. are AmScope microscopes all good then from £100 upwards ?

dustcritter

#5 Post by dustcritter » Tue Dec 08, 2015 5:44 pm

whats the "brunel SP27 Monocular" like ?

75RR

#6 Post by 75RR » Tue Dec 08, 2015 6:49 pm

Unless someone has used a particular microscope it is difficult to recommend one except in general terms.