I want a stereoscopic microscope

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
kkokkolis

I want a stereoscopic microscope

#1 Post by kkokkolis » Sat Jan 10, 2015 12:53 pm

Hello everybody.
I would like to get a microscope for my hobbies. I am a physician, I looked through professional biological microscopes until I had enough and I know I don't need one of those. I want a stereoscopic microscope.
I have many hobbies such as astronomy. Among them, mineralogy, knives (Swiss Army) and multitools, nature observing (like plants and insects), some collecting like toy soldiers from lead/pewter and stamps would benefit from a 20-40x microscope. I now use my Belomo 10x loupe (excellent) and for stereo the Pentax Papilio 6,5x21 and love the views, but want to look closer.
As telescopes, microscopes cost twice in Greece than US and remember that we have a lower per capita. And we have fewer options, mostly Konus, Bresser and a few unidentified brands selling apparently Chinese pieces like the two aforementioned brands. There are digital options also and include Celestron here.
I can buy a Konus Diamond for 300€, it costs 400 new. I've seen it, it has a strong construction, nice flat eyepieces, good focuser and light both directions. The only problem, while viewing flat things like money was a perfect experience, I couldn't focus on three dimensional objects, there wasn't enough space. I guess I could remove the glass in order to put in the mineral and gain in focusing space but I couldn't test it in the store.
Most mineral specimens I have are some cms across and I wouldn't
like to brake them to pieces in order to study them.
For 250€ there are two Bresser models, Researcher and Analyth. The Researcher have a second pair of 20x eyepieces that add 80x. But I don't understand why they cost the same.
All three are metallic and they look sturdy enough.