Carl Zeiss Axiostar Plus Beginner Question

Do you have any microscopy questions, which you are afraid to ask? This is your place.
Kalisto

Carl Zeiss Axiostar Plus Beginner Question

#1 Post by Kalisto » Sat Feb 01, 2020 12:05 am

Hey gals and guys,

I was gifted a Carl Zeiss Axiostar Plus by a friend that has been used in a lab environment. Why? I guess its because im the type of peron who gets really excited about that kind of stuff even though im not a biologist or chemist (I studied IT). So I have this really fine microscope that im really excited to use. It hast the following optics: 2 10x18 eye pieces and 10 x 0.25, 20 X 0.45 and 40 x 0.65 objectives. As far as I know this microscope was used in the textile industry to assess the chemical safety of fabrics (I have cleaned the acid stains off of the stage and clips as best I can). I really want to use it to have a look at bacterial and fungal cultures that are found around the house and maybe on the human body (mouth, nose etc), looking at blood cells would also be really interesting. Now my question is: what kind of of objectives would I need to look at bacteria and blood cells (from my limited understanding I would need to use oil immersion slides and objectives). What kind of magnification would I need for that? Are micoscope objectives standardized? (if I buy a an objective (used) what do I need to check to make sure it fits my Axiostar Plus revolving nose piece?)

Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Here is the link to the accessories of my microscope from the Carl Zeiss website: https://www.micro-shop.zeiss.com/en/de/ ... &cId=10052

Greetings
Kalisto

jb89

Re: Carl Zeiss Axiostar Plus Beginner Question

#2 Post by jb89 » Sat Feb 01, 2020 2:15 am

Kalisto,

Welcome to the forum!

I am also out of my element a bit but love microscopes, I am studying geology but love looking at biological specimens (especially live)