I can't seem to focus

Here you can discuss topics such as focus stacking, stitching and other techniques that relate to the processing of micrographs.
Finelld

I can't seem to focus

#1 Post by Finelld » Fri Jul 29, 2022 6:20 am

Greetings,

I am new to micro photography but am extraordinary experienced and qualified in general photography. I have a Nikon Microphot-FX connected to a 6.4mp astronomy camera (ASI178MC). I have this placed on top of the trinocular photo tube of the microscope. I can't seem to get my images anywhere near as sharp as I can see them through the eyepieces. I can do some sharpening but I consider this largely to be fake focus. Can someone offer any suggestions to help clear my images.

I have attached two images of Vitamin C crystals taken under polarized light. They are the same image but I have added sharpening to one. They are taken with a 4x objective.

Best Regards,

David Finell
Vitamin C Normal.jpg
Vitamin C Normal.jpg (262.52 KiB) Viewed 5462 times
Vitamin C Sharpened.jpg
Vitamin C Sharpened.jpg (342.42 KiB) Viewed 5462 times

Scarodactyl

Re: I can't seem to focus

#2 Post by Scarodactyl » Fri Jul 29, 2022 12:25 pm

How do you have it attached? Is it in focus at the same setting as the eyepieces?

Finelld

#3 Post by Finelld » Fri Jul 29, 2022 12:50 pm

No, I must refocus when I use the camera. I display the image from the camera magnified 1:1 on my computer to focus. The camera is placed on top of the photo tube with the sensor directly exposed without any intermediate optics. I believe that the photo tube was originally designed to be used with a projection eyepiece on to a 35mm film camera. I don’t have one of these eyepieces or the associated camera adapter. I hope to solve that next month and switch to a full frame digital camera. Unfortunately I can’t find documentation or other reference material to inform me of exactly what I need.

Hobbyst46

#4 Post by Hobbyst46 » Fri Jul 29, 2022 1:41 pm