Tests with polarizing filters

Here you can discuss different microscopic techniques and illumination methods, such as Brightfield, Darkfield, Phase Contrast, DIC, Oblique illumination, etc.
fdupre

Tests with polarizing filters

#1 Post by fdupre » Sun Feb 13, 2022 7:51 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm a complete beginner and new to the subject, but I've just done some tests with polarizing filters, and well, I find this technique highly interesting!
So I did some tests and here are the results:
Filters configuration:
config_filtres_polarisants_ang.jpg
config_filtres_polarisants_ang.jpg (136.73 KiB) Viewed 6547 times
I used half of a variable polarizing filter intended for astronomy directly placed on the slide and a photo polarizing filter directly placed on the light source.
With this config, I manage to have a total extinction without any problem and also to vary the brightness with surprising effects.

I therefore first looked for total extinction by rotating the photo filter placed at the bottom on the light source (it was more practical than turning the one placed on the blade) and the results obtained surprised me. I will do other tests with other subjects because given the results and the ease of obtaining a black background, I find that this technique is very very interesting and deserves to be well understood and deepened with other subjects . . .

Sand:
without polarization:
001Sable_normal10x_StackeBH.jpg
001Sable_normal10x_StackeBH.jpg (329.15 KiB) Viewed 6547 times
with polarization (complete extinction):
002Sable_fermerMax10x_StackeBH.jpg
002Sable_fermerMax10x_StackeBH.jpg (286.13 KiB) Viewed 6547 times
A hair :
without polarization:
003Cheveux_normal10x.jpg
003Cheveux_normal10x.jpg (73.45 KiB) Viewed 6547 times
with polarization (complete extinction):
004Cheveux_fermerMax10x.jpg
004Cheveux_fermerMax10x.jpg (82.54 KiB) Viewed 6547 times