Hi , I'm Chris (from Paris)

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
chrisimbee

Hi , I'm Chris (from Paris)

#1 Post by chrisimbee » Tue Mar 30, 2021 8:15 pm

Hello ;
I'm Chris ; I live in Paris and i've recently found out about this forum as I've been following the youtube channel Microbe hunter for some months now :)

I had my first microscope as a kid a long time ago ; it was some kind of toy microscope that could magnify up to 100x ; and then a few years later I got a,other one that was still some kind of educationnal toy but still had 3 objectivs and could go up to x750 at best.
paralux PCB.jpg
paralux PCB.jpg (9.06 KiB) Viewed 2767 times
I studied biology a bit and with the money I earned from my 1st summer job I bought my 1st real microscope (Paralux PCB that could give decent images with achromatique objective of fair quality) You can find the exact same on ebay at the moment !!!

And some 10 years ago I bought a Bresser trino that is like this one :
bresser-researcher-trino-ii-40-1000x.jpg
bresser-researcher-trino-ii-40-1000x.jpg (9.81 KiB) Viewed 2767 times
At the moment I've resumed protozoa observation and am looking for amoeba proteus :)

I've managed so far to cultivate some other species of amoeba like amoeba mayorella ; cochliopodium sp ; a kind of heliozoa , arcellina vulgaris and another species I havent been able to identify yet .

I registered here as I want to learn more about microscopy technique and share my observations and findings in a friendly and open way :)

Also recently thanks to microhunter video i've discovered what phase contrast was and I'm building my own device (i'll post the détails soon ) :)
microscope Olympus BH2-BHTU+epifluo RFC @ 470 nm
Zeiss neofluar x16Ph, x40Ph, x100 oilPh
LOMO Ph x10 X20 X40 X90oil
Olympus SPFl x2
Olympus SPx20, SPx40 SPx100
camera astro ZWO ASI 120MM (n&b) et ZWO ASI 120 MC (colour)
Nikon D3100

Greg Howald

Re: Hi , I'm Chris (from Paris)