Newbie interested in mycology

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
nin

Newbie interested in mycology

#1 Post by nin » Thu May 06, 2021 2:27 am

Hi everyone,

I'm a recent college graduate interested in going to grad school for microbiology, but taking a gap year or so to work first. I'm particularly interested in the ecology and evolution of microbial symbioses, especially those that involve fungi.

I love collecting and identifying fungi as a hobby, but outside of classes I haven't had much experience with microscopy. I'd like to learn more about microscopy in general, identifying fungal structures, and lichen identification (which is pretty new to me!)

I'm trying to read and learn more about compound microscopes before buying anything; there's a lot of information out there, but this forum seems like a great resource! I was wondering whether looking for local sellers is a good idea. I'm in the NYC metro area and found this shop (https://microscopestorenyc.com) which is selling used and "fully serviced" Olympus and Nikon compound microscopes for $500. Is anyone familiar with this shop? Is this a reasonable price for used compound scopes?

Looking forward to learning from you all!

Nin

PeteM

Re: Newbie interested in mycology

#2 Post by PeteM » Thu May 06, 2021 3:14 am

Happy to send you a copy of a guide to various microscope brands and models - once you have enough posts to send a message. Could help you read up on something you might find locally.

$500 would be a terrific deal on something like an Olympus BHS with SPlan objectives, a good deal on a BHTU with DPlan objectives, and a poor deal on something like a CH-2 with short-barrel objectives.

apochronaut

#3 Post by apochronaut » Thu May 06, 2021 1:43 pm