Greetings from Spain!

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
victhree

Greetings from Spain!

#1 Post by victhree » Thu Jul 01, 2021 6:40 pm

Welp, this is me officially leaving the lurk zone.

Good evening, everyone! I recently got into microscopy after stumbling upon Journey to the Microcosmos on youtube while doomscrolling (seen a lot of that on the forum :lol: ). I have no background in any kind of science, but their footage is breathtaking, I just HAD to get in on this hobby. Besides, I'm a sucker for anything with gears and lenses.

Being broke and in college, my budget was, umm... naught. Nevertheless, I'm a DIY kind of person, so I tried to work within those constraints. After a lot of reading and overthinking, I found a listing on a 2nd hand online store and met up with the seller. It was quite worrying to see him produce the microscope from the back of a motorcycle with no real protection besides the dust cover but, to my amazement, everything worked perfectly; 40€ well spent!

The scope in question is a 3B Scientific W30610 with 4x, 10x, and 40x objectives. Not a beast by any means, but the quality is quite remarkable for the price tag (with some exceptions, we'll get to that). It had a few shortcomings in terms of features, but nothing a shopping spree on Aliexpress couldn't fix. In the end, I got a screw-on mechanical stage, an actual Abbe condenser (the original "condenser" was a single lens with no light cone, which prevented me from playing around with filters and darkfield), and a phone adapter.

I've been having a ton of fun with this thing, but I've come up against a few problems. I'm not sure if this is the place to ask this sort of question, but here goes nothing (I'll make another post if there's an issue).