Greetings from a bored ex-biologist

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
WhatTheCell

Greetings from a bored ex-biologist

#1 Post by WhatTheCell » Sat Aug 07, 2021 10:07 pm

Hi Everyone! I'm looking forward to learning lots from this amazing forum (I have learned a lot already as a browser!). I'm a former cell biologist who did quite a bit of fluorescence microscopy (I used a wonderful Leica line scanning confocal at my last job). Now I'm a hematology tech in a medical lab and while I'm happy I have a well-paid stable job, I am so, so bored (and simultaneously extremely stressed) at work.

I wanted to have some actual fun with microscopy again, so I bought a used microscope on ebay for use at home, LOL. It's a Zeiss standard (probably a 14, the least exciting kind) and it works, despite not being correctly packaged for shipping (of course). The only seized up parts were the condenser centering screws, and they've now been cleaned and regreased, and I managed to set Koehler :)

After viewing Oliver's videos on different filters, my next goal is to find a subcondenser filter holder and try some DIY darkfield or oblique illumination with pond creatures/algae (or whatever I can find). I have a two year old daughter, and I'm looking forward to messing around with her. I think her responsibility will be collecting samples and I will operate the scope for now! At the moment I am just having some fun with my old histology slides (actually a friend's slides, until my parents send mine back from home) from technical college, and I'm waiting on a cell phone adapter so that I can take pictures to share, especially with my Dad, who is a fellow microscopy dork.

I also discovered that I've always been spoiled at work with plan objectives, so in the future I will probably upgrade some of my objective lenses as well. Spherical aberration is no joke :shock:

Dubious

Re: Greetings from a bored ex-biologist