Hello from Hungary, and a Leitz camera question

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
Cavalier

Hello from Hungary, and a Leitz camera question

#1 Post by Cavalier » Sat Jan 08, 2022 2:17 am

Hi micro people!

I'm pretty new in microscopy, literally, i don't even have my microscope yet. I've got a used Leitz Laborlux K from Ebay, a Wundertüte, as Oliver would say according to one of his videos. I hope it will be fine though, it's equipped with EF Phaco lenses, the light doesn't work, but i already ordered some spares. If it's not the bulb, i can fix it too.
I live in a village, there is a small river, a fishing lake, and different kind of animals, dogs, horses, birds, pigs, so i have ideas for samples. :D

And now the question, i want to use Nikon DSLR full frame cameras on the trinocular head. I've figured out that i need an adapter, in the attached image, the one on the right. (i found one with the optics for 300 eur, i'm not that desperate to buy it :) )

Which okular should i use in it, can you show me some? Probably the middle one here, Periplan GF 10X?
http://www.microscopy-uk.org.uk/mag/img ... 1b5a10.jpg

What else do i need to do for a Nikon F-mount? I've been searching for some days but just getting more and more confused. :(

Thanks!
Attachments
leitz.jpg
leitz.jpg (100.76 KiB) Viewed 1624 times
leitz adapter variable eyepiece 543431.jpg
leitz adapter variable eyepiece 543431.jpg (47.71 KiB) Viewed 1624 times

Alexander

Re: Hello from Hungary, and a Leitz camera question

#2 Post by Alexander » Sat Jan 08, 2022 8:08 am

Both adapter shown may give proper results.

The one with optics is a very complete solution for a full-frame camera. All you need in addition is the camera and a adapter-ring for its mount. But: Make sure, this thing is designed for 160 mm tube length. Most probably it is not.

The one without optics is quite sub-optimal.