Introduction of Apochromat

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
apochromat

Introduction of Apochromat

#1 Post by apochromat » Sun Jan 09, 2022 10:51 pm

Hello my name is Michael and I work for the oldest existing microscope maker in the world as a scientist. I am a trained biologist (protozoologist) and I started with microscopy 45 years ago as a hobby. I still love my Photomicroscope III but for my actual investigations of protists I use a JENAVAL which I also adore and think the JENA- 250 CF optics are still among the best ever devised until now.
Thanks
Michael

apochronaut

Re: Introduction of Apochromat

#2 Post by apochronaut » Mon Jan 10, 2022 1:05 am

Welcome from Carl Zeiss. Something to ponder. Charles Spencer published his first catalogue in 1838. Spencer became part of American Optiical in 1931. Spencer/AO began priducing infinity corrected optical microscopes in 1961. In 1962, Spencer/AO purchased Carl Reichert and by 1971 Reichert too were mfg. infinity corrected microscopes. In 1985 Spencer/AO/Reichert became part of Cambridge Instruments. In 1991 Cambridge Instruments merged with Wild-Leitz to form the new entity, Leica Microsystems. Leica's Delta infinity corrected optical system used between 1991 and 1997 is a slightly tweaked version of the Spencer/AO/Reichert infinity system. The subsequent HCX and HC systems are further refinements which can trace their heritage back to Charles Spencer's 1838 optician work using the white sand and eventually fluorspar found in the lower Great Lakes basin.

Wes

#3 Post by Wes » Mon Jan 10, 2022 9:05 am

Hello Michael and welcome to the forum. It would be of great interest to me as Phomi III user (and others I am sure) if you show us your scopes and I am looking forward to seeing the protists that you have and will document in the future.

Best regards
Wes
Zeiss Photomicroscope III BF/DF/Pol/Ph/DIC/FL/Jamin-Lebedeff
Youtube channel

apochromat