Astronomer Considering Microscopy

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
mikemarotta

Astronomer Considering Microscopy

#1 Post by mikemarotta » Sat Jan 29, 2022 5:23 pm

This forum was recommended on the "Cloudy Days" sub-forum of CloudyNights for astronomers. I work as a technical writer and have been active as an amateur astronomer and backyard observer for about seven years. I am now considering a new hobby, going from the macro-universe to the micro-universe.

Getting up to speed in astronomy as an observer was costly. I have eight telescopes, which are seven too many. I previously gave two to the Goodwill rather than contend with them. A large fraction of all that effort was learning the markets and products. The optics were defined over 100 years ago. Now, it is just a matter of quality. That has been the large set of expensive lessons which I seek to avoid.

The solution set included finding good forums and learning to read critically, to compare and contrast, and follow usernames to see who actually works in the hobby and who just posts a lot of opinions.

As for microscopy, my interests initially are in human anatomy and physiology. That being so, however, in astronomy my current interests only came to light after several years of learning what is available and possible from urban skies with a small instrument. And as much as I enjoy viewing, most of my effort is in history and theory and the history of theory. It is where I write for the hobby and edit for the profession. Therefore, I am open to discovering new vistas in microscopy that I had not perceived.

Lastly, I am not in a hurry. Buying a microscope is contingent on selling the extra telescopes. And I want to avoid paying for an expensive lesson. Therefore, I am also spending far more time now in my local public and university libraries, reading online, and watching YouTube videos.

Thanks and Best Regards,
Mike M.
-----------------------------