Microscope for video/visual art suggestions needed

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
10.000spore

Microscope for video/visual art suggestions needed

#1 Post by 10.000spore » Thu Oct 27, 2022 8:06 am

Hi everyone,
My name is Salvo..I am a music producer looking into creating beautiful analog visuals from the microscopic world that surround us. I will be mainly recording video in very high definition of liquids.
I would love to have the practicality of adding, shaking, and interacting with the specimen..
Considering all the above, what do you suggest as microscope and camera?

I will be probably buy from them:
https://amscope.co.uk

Any help in this regard will be much appreciated..🙏

Dennis

Re: Microscope for video/visual art suggestions needed

#2 Post by Dennis » Thu Oct 27, 2022 12:32 pm

10,000 spore-
I would go as cheap as you can and buy used off Ebay.
I would not show microbes (microscopic animals) as that would be very creepy projected on a wall or in art.
I would do a web search of what else to use as I do not think a microscope would be the best thing.
-Dennis

PeteM

#3 Post by PeteM » Thu Oct 27, 2022 3:45 pm

In terms of subjects, you might check out crystal growth and polarization. Amazing images and with movement if you do time lapse photography.

You might also get interesting polarized images with bits of plastics (they show up colored between polarizing filters) either in fluid or heated "alloys" that might flow. The latter a bit tricky, but the needed heat with some thermoplastics should be manageable.

Just pond critters (despite the above creep factor) can be interesting as the water dries.

Mixes of fluids under DIC (differential interference contrast) can look amazing, but the scopes are expensive and you won't get a satisfactory one from AmScope in my opinion.