Hello from Wisconsin

What is your microscopy history? What are your interests? What equipment do you use?
Geolonick

Hello from Wisconsin

#1 Post by Geolonick » Wed Jan 04, 2023 4:50 pm

Hi All,
I am an electron microscopist and former geologist. I also worked in the aerospace industry. I have worked with some light microscopes but it has been mostly brightfield and polarized light (geological thin sections). I was lucky to find a Nikon Microphot at a decent price. It is set up for BF, DF, DIC and fluorescence. I don't have much in the way of objectives yet, I have a PH3 40x and a few E-plan , still trying to figure out want I need.
I'm mostly planning on looking at micro-life I find in the ground and local ponds with my pre-teen son. As an undergrad I attended a fantastic lecture on microfossils, does anyone know a good source for foraminifera or radiolaria?
Happy to be here!
Nick

viktor j nilsson

Re: Hello from Wisconsin

#2 Post by viktor j nilsson » Wed Jan 04, 2023 5:41 pm

Good buy, the Microphot is a magnificent scope, and seem to quite often have been sold with DIC.

As you probably know, you will need 160mm Nikon CF objectives. Most of them are covered in this catalogue:

https://krebsmicro.com/Nikon_CF.pdf

Many of the objectives shown in the catalogue are of the updated version known as CFN (Chrome-Free New), characterized by their knurling.

Before that catalogue was published, Nikon made an earlier generation known as CF, with plain barrels. Some of those are shown in the catalogue as well (as they hadn't been updated). But they would also

After that catalogue was published, Nikon made a new series of objectives known as CFN Plan Fluor. They aren't super common as they were only made for a couple of years.